New England Clam Chowder

New England Clam Chowdah!

It's Super Bowl Weekend And The Patriots Are Playing!

The Patriots are playing in the Super Bowl again this year! I'll also be making my famous clam chowdah to enjoy game time again this year. So you just have to have a bowl of chowdah while watching the Pats! This is a re-post of the recipe I shared last year.

Note: If you have an aversion to shellfish you can substitute a white fish like cod or haddock for the clams. Or you can go crazy and add fish, scallops, shrimp as well as clams for a super tasty chowder!

IMG_1705 (2018_06_24 03_13_06 UTC).jpg


GoPats (2018_06_24 03_13_06 UTC).png

Here's my chowdah recipe. This recipe makes a nice thick chowder without using flour or corn starch to thicken it. So these's no pasty taste.

Ingredients:

4-6 Slices bacon – cut in ½” pieces
1 large white onion - diced 1/4"
1 cup water
1 large russet potato – peeled and cubed
1 can Campbell’s potato soup
2 cans baby clams
1 cup sour cream
1 pint half and half
Salt to taste
Pepper to taste
Oyster crackers

IMG_1695 (2018_06_24 03_13_06 UTC).jpg

Directions:

IMG_1697 (2018_06_24 03_13_06 UTC).jpg

Dice the bacon and onion

IMG_1699 (2018_06_24 03_13_06 UTC).jpg

Add the bacon and onions to a large stock pot. I used an 8 quart. Add 1 cup of water and heat on medium heat until the water is evaporated.

IMG_1700 (2018_06_24 03_13_06 UTC).jpg

Meanwhile peel and dice the potato.

IMG_1701 (2018_06_24 03_13_06 UTC).jpg

Add the potatoes and clam juice. Don't add the clams yet. There should be enough liquid to cover the potatoes. If not add a little water. Bring to a boil, cover, then reduce the heat and let simmer for 1/2 hour until the potatoes are tender.

IMG_1702 (2018_06_24 03_13_06 UTC).jpg

When the potatoes are ready, add the clams, sour cream and half and half. Bring to a boil.

IMG_1705 (2018_06_24 03_13_06 UTC).jpg

Serve it up topped with oyster crackers.

Enjoy the game!


Div_1.png

All photos, images and text in my posts are my original work.

Please visit my galleries for prints and products
of my photos and artwork on the following sites:

Society6
Fine Art America

Follow me on Facebook
and on WEKU

Enjoy!

Roger


Div_2_Paws.png

PHC-Footer-05.gif









Asapers.gif

Sort:  

Something deliciously different to a dish to snack on Roger. Enjoy watching the game @rwedegis

#powerhousecreatives visit 😊

Thank you for your comments Joan!

I don't eat bacon (from pork) but turkey bacon might work. I love clam chowder.

My husband and I drove from Boston to Halifax a few years back. Everywhere we stopped, he ordered lobster rolls and I had clam chowder. All different and all delicious!!

I'm sure turkey bacon would work. You could also try smoked paprika and forego the meat entirely. A lot of people use salt pork but I prefer bacon, I think it has a better taste. Thank you for your comments!

Well, if pork is often used in the soup, I might have eaten that without knowing :) It never occurred to me that there could be meat in a seafood soup LOL

That's the thing about eating out. You are never quite sure of the ingredients!

Haven't had one of those for yearsssss... Oyster crackers, that's something new...

Thank you for stopping by!

You are most welcome @rwedegis.

Gosh, they look so creamy and tasty!
I wish I can have some...

Hey @rwedegis how are you? You know what I have been craving for clam chowder for two days now and it is amazing how you posted this. Tons of bacon too as everything gets so much better with bacon. I may try this over the weekend. Thanks buddy.

I'm doing well! Yes, the bacon makes it wonderful! I'll be making it on Sunday night. If you make some too, we can share a bowl together across the Earth! Thank you for stopping by and commenting!

Making me wish I liked seafood! It looks so yummy :D

Thank you for your comments! You could try it with corn instead of clams.

Congratulations @rwedegis! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3000 comments. Your next target is to reach 3500 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62795.57
ETH 2581.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74