Robocall epidemic must be stopped!

I have a temporary solution for Robocalls. For now anyway, until something is done to stop robocalls completely.

Robo Killers

While looking for answers I found a site online called Robo Killer that I first thought was a good service since it remits revenge on the offenders that are telemarketers. Then I quickly learned the telemarketer bots got smarter and are able to circumvent a lot of their efforts by using local numbers. Still the name Robo Killer is the best.

One site I reviewed stated US consumers receive 2.4 billion robocalls a month and the ones from spoofed numbers are the hardest to stop says the Federal Communications Commission.

The tech site also gave a story of a real estate lady that has to take calls, she depends on the phone and she gets countless robocalls everyday.

Miami Herald

This is from the MiamiHerald showing just how big the problem is and it keeps growing.

“We have blocked more than 4 billion robocalls in our network,” said Kelly Starling, spokesperson for AT&T in South Florida. “We have worked to identify the sources of the calls, block them before they go through and provide consumers with tools to block unwanted calls, like AT&T Call Protect.”

But folks this only goes so far Robocalls are like Trebbles on Star Trek they keep multiplying.

nlwu70sjq8.gif
source

Consumer Reports

My research on robocalls let me to the latest issue of Consumer Reports. Looks like Robocalls are a huge problem that need to be dealt with when it shows up in this magazine.

The article is in our local library. In addition here is a link online for the magazine.

May 2019 by Octavio Blanco, titled, “Mad About Robocalls”. To quote the article:

we find nearly 50 billion Robocalls listed in the US alone.

The 2018 record is 48 billion according to YouMail a company that tracks and blocks 1500 Robocalls per second.

They say Robocallers autodial 1,000s of numbers all over the world using VoIP (voice over Internet protocol).

As far as getting on the government do not call list they are unable to update frequently enough. Also the FTC can’t clamp down overseas.

Customer Reports writes it is legal for political parties, candidates and charities to leave a pre-recorded message on land lines.

Here is my take let me know what you think.

It is up to the major phone carries to do something and I am not sure what.

My solution

This is one of the reasons my husband and I do not have a landline. We removed it long ago.

Also I we do not answer a call unless we know whom it is from.

Thank you for reading. :)
@rebeccabe

9vzbb3gd9i.png

xjoc77sdn4.png

Sort:  

Yep I ditched a land line a while ago. Also, I never answer my cell if I dont know the number. Let it go to voicemail. I did add my number to the Federal site, but I still get calls!

Looks like we are doing the same thing a far as dealing with the robocalls. It has been a while since receiving one on my cell but I will still not answer if I don't know the number. Thanks for your comment @old-guy-photos

Robocalls are an insane pain in the butt. Most of the ones we get are to the business line at our store... and we pretty much have to have a land line there, even though this is actually a phone-by-cable from the local cable provider. I know enough of the numbers by heart to where I just let it ring. Or sometimes I just pick up and set the handset in front of the radio, so when the human monitoring for pickups gets some nice "hold music" till they figure out they are not actually talking to anyone...

great idea. Something is going to have to be done it is so disruptive.
At least we know if it is important someone will leave a message.

We don't have those issues in our country I guess we're still third world, still it seems it's a really pain in the butt, those robot calls. Regards.


We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
uvoted and/or resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks so much!

I am receiving many robo calls on my cell phone, I totally hate them. I keep signing up on those do-not-call list... I keep blocking them... now there is something new... they are “unknown callers’’ ... this is never gonna stop. 😡😡😡

I agree. The best thing I find to do is not answer unless I know the number. If you answer I think you get put on more lists. So many scams out there. Hey thanks for stopping by.

You got a 12.01% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @rebeccabe! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Hey, @rebeccabe.

Lots of good, if not discouraging information here.

We haven't had a landline now for over ten years. It's only been within the last two or three that my cell phone has been bombarded by these calls. It's easier to ignore the ones that come from far away (I don't know a whole lot of people, for instance, on the east coast, or the midwest, or the deep south), but when they're cell phone numbers from the local area, it's harder. I need to plug in a bunch of numbers into my contacts list of people who actually might call me. That would help.

So, like you, I just let them ring. Some leave messages (robo calls), a lot don't. And I do a lot of blocking. Once in a while I'll get a call that doesn't come from my wife, or family. That's it.

Howdy rebeccabe! I agree, we don't have a land line and it helps but we still get lots of sales calls even though we're on the do not call list. I think these people will always find ways around the laws and technology.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49