Waterblommetjie Bredie

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

For those of you that do not know what a waterbloommetjie is, let me explain.

It is a water plant that grows here in the Cape in and around the many dams and produces very unique looking flowers known to us all as waterblommetjies (water flowers).

There have always been cape communities way back in our history, that went out and harvested these plants and are still today known as the waterblommetjie gatherers.
The harvesting was done mainly by the women, who would wade into the water and gather armfuls of the blooms - which had very long stems.
There have been many artists - including myself, that have captured these wonderful women as they went about their work.

I do not know how they discovered the fact that these flowers could be cooked and eaten, but their recipe for the wonderful "waterblommetjie bredie (water flower stew) has been handed down from generation to generation and is unique to the cape - the flowers are unusual and remind me of prawns.
There are a few variations of the recipe, but most are very similar, so I thought that I would share my own one.

Ingredients:
500g waterblommetjies
600g stewing lamb
1 large onion finely chopped
3 large potatoes diced
2 tablespoons of vinegar or fresh lemon juice
2 cups water
Salt and pepper
(I add a chicken stock cube too)

Method:
Soak the waterblommetjies in cold salted water for a couple of hours, then wash well and drain
Brown the onion in a little butter or oil
Add the meat, salt and pepper and brown slightly
Add water and cover and simmer for about an hour and a half until the meat is tender
Now add the waterblommetjies, potato and lemon juice
Cover and simmer on a low heat until the waterblommetjies and potatoes are soft
Do not stir as the waterblommetjies will break up

This is a winter dish that I look forward to making as it is delicious.

Sort:  

This looks amazing @lizziesworld. I think I need to shrug off the shackles of a regular life to travel and be a foodie 😊 So many interesting dishes like this one and not anyway to try them currently. I'm thinking we should make a cookbook!!

Yes it must be wonderful to be a "foodie" and try out new delights.

I have never heard about this before. This is my first time and they do look interesting and beautiful. And this looks like a delicious healthy meal too. Yuhoo! =)

It is really delicious and I believe most restaurants in the Cape now have it on their menus when in season.

O my dad use to love this but I never developed a taste for it.

Yes it is different - but I love it.

Somewhere (I think on Discord) I saw @jaynie mention you were making this for your weekly dinner thing - now I can see why she was looking forward to it! What a unique and yummy looking stew - thanks for sharing the history, as well as the recipe!

What a beautiful story. It's amazing how diverse the food that nature offers us is. Thank you for sharing!

My pleasure and thanks for stopping by

Oeeee that's something I haven't seen in a while... Nom nom. My mom's favorite dish to cook. No waterblommetjies in Mauritius I'm afraid.

Posted using Partiko Android

I supposed there are tinned ones - but not the same

Hi @lizziesworld!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.830 which ranks you at #12191 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 22 places in the last three days (old rank 12169).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 250 contributions, your post is ranked at #128.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74