The Healing Factor

I have always made an effort to post every day and so was very disappointed when all the issues came up on the platform refusing to let my posts go through.

However, it is great to be back again.

I cannot say it has been a great week so far - far too much negative news in the country - children being raped and killed, kidnapped, missing children and so it goes on.

This really gets to me as we seem to be a country filled with anger and violence - why?
Yes I know that we have a high unemployment and people will steal in order to get something that can be converted into cash - but why, why, does someone have to die in order for their belongings to be taken?

Is there no more empathy or compassion left in society ?

I do think that drugs have a great part to play in this - making people able to do the most horrendous things - even to family members.

Yesterday, after being away for a day, I came back feeling so emotionally exhausted, so in desperation I turned to my garden and after a while I felt calmer and more grounded.
It is amazing how working with plants has this calming effect on one - whether it is weeding, planting or just looking, the connection to nature is healing.

One of my favourite quotations is this one:

"All my hurts, my garden spade can heal"
Acknowledgements: Ralph Waldo Emerson.

Sort:  

Crimes in which children are harmed, are just pure evil.

Indeed and here in South Africa it is like an epidemic.

Indeed and here in
South Africa it is like
An epidemic.

                 - lizziesworld


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95