My Window Box Red Tomatoes

A while back, I planted some seeds of a new heirloom tomato called Window Box Red.

The seed packet was very eye catching and as I grow my tomatoes in containers, I thought that I would give them a go.

So far, so good and the seedlings are growing nicely.
I planted them in good soil with plenty of compost and as soon as they start to bear flowers, I shall give them some organic fertilizer.
The plants get sun for most of the day which is ideal and I water them every morning - it is important that tomatoes have a consistent supply of water otherwise the plants will be stressed and not produce a good harvest.
If planted in the ground, a drip system is a good way to ensure that the plants get correct watering.

Calcium is another thing that is important and so I put crushed egg shells into my soil - a lack of calcium can cause blossom end rot.
As the plants develop. it is important to stake them - this allows good air circulation and prevents the foliage from touching the ground and cuts back on disease.

Sort:  

We didn't get that many small tomatoes this year from the greenhouse, but those we did get were great. Always like to find a new strain that's good and the picture on the packet looks good.

Well, if mine turn out looking as good as the seed packet I shall be thrilled - holding thumbs.

Tomato is such a lovely easy to grow plant, sprouts up fast then the battle begins with trying to get them fruits to ripen the way you want, or they grow into tiny little tomatoes.

Good luck with your new batch, using egg shells is a great way of nourishing the soil, nice tip @lizziesworld

Thank you - yes, I am hoping they turn out well - will do another post as they progress.

Hi @lizziesworld!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.081 which ranks you at #10456 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 103 contributions, your post is ranked at #51.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Nice to see you getting some growth.

The cooler weather I’ve been having has been amazing for my tomatoes. Got 12 at the moment growing!

That is great - I live in hope!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63162.99
ETH 2567.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82