Heirloom Pepper Update

At the end of last season, I pruned back my peppers and left them to see how they would cope through winter.

For quite a while the plants seemed to stand still, but now that spring has arrived and the weather has warmed up considerably, I can say that I am very pleased with the result.

The flowers have all appeared and my first pepper is now forming - and I think it is a chocolate pepper.

As I did not plant any new seeds this season, I am relying on my over wintered plants to give me a decent harvest and as I previously planted different colours, it will be nice to see what appears.

At the beginning of spring, I added more compost to the peppers and now that the flowers and fruits are forming, I have given them some organic fertilizer.
My worm castings will be ready soon and so I shall feed with this too as all the veggies love it.

Peppers like plenty of sunshine and mine receive plenty as they have it for the entire day.
I give them a watering once a day and so far this seems to be working well.

Nice flowers which get pollinated by the wind and insects.

First heirloom pepper forming.

Sort:  

It's so cool you can over winter peppers! Never happen here...

Could you take them indoors during winter?

No, not really, there's no place and we have wood heat. Wood heat is hard on plants, the temp is too variable. I've tried with various other plants, and only the hardier ones survive.

I think you are amazing with your gardening despite all the difficulties along the way - I had not heard of using wood heat before.

We've heated our house with passive solar and wood since 1983. Any plants in the house have to survive the wild temp swings that result, plus my sporadic care. Delicate plants like lemon verbena and peppers don't. Sometimes rosemary does...

Even sporadic care can produce surprising results!

You have quite the green thumb 👍💕@lizziesworld

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you - I learn each day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17