Eat Me!

The first of my violas has come into bloom - oh so beautiful!!

I have my violas growing between my veggies - they attract the good insects, look gorgeous and best of all, they are edible.

The other flowers that I plant in amongst my veggies are marigolds, alyssum and nasturtiums.

So many people do not know that many flowers are edible and raise their eye brows when I put some in a salad - then I watch them quietly pushing the flowers to one side and not eating them.

Well, maybe it will take some time for people to get used to the idea - but I am delighted to see that some grocery stores are now selling these in see through packets.

However, just a word of warning, if you buy your edible flowers, make sure that they have been grown organically so that there are no pesticides that have been sprayed on the plants.

It is always better to grow your own and know that all is good to pick and eat.

Sort:  

Love pansies! Again, such a contrast, we are about to have fall foliage and you have pansies. :))

Ah, your fall must be very beautiful and full of bounty!

That's arguably the best title to a blog post I've seen in quite some time.

I honestly had no idea that Violas were edible either. Is it the green leaf or the petal? What do they taste like? I gotta admit, I'd probably put it to a side as well. I'm not sure I'd be able to bring myself to eat a dandelion either.

Glad you liked the title - it is the actual flower that you eat and it has a pleasant taste, not strong and full of vitamins.

Too neat. I'll need to remember to try to put in more flowers in my own garden next year.

Yes do that - worth the effort.

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a delayed resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

Hi @lizziesworld!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.080 which ranks you at #10449 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 75 places in the last three days (old rank 10374).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 127 contributions, your post is ranked at #81.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62