You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Healthy Treats | Have you ever eaten Cactus? How about Prickly Pear Shortbread!

I just love prickly pears, the green variety grows in the Eastern Cape, it's really delicious and so sweet but always eat it just like that! Of course not with the skin, imagine the agony! Only the food inventor @birdsinparadise would come up with a baked treat, looks fabulous!

Sort:  

Well, those little hairs are a nusance.... Are the green varieties mild as well? I have tried them in juices and they're great but the red ones I have tried aren't sweet. Do you cook with them? I'm sure you have an amazing recipe or two up your sleeve :) Thanks my friend!

As they aren't readily available where we live, we hardly see them in the stores, probably does not have a long shelf life. But people mostly use them in preserves or jams and also make a syrup with them. I enjoy them fresh though.
Enjoy your weekend my friend!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51