You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Etched in my Heart, and Skin {PowerHouseCreatives Contest}

Over the years, I have many times thought of tattoos.
And when the kids came one after the other even more.
I'd imagine one with their initials designed into a mandala of sorts close to my heart...
But alas I am way too chicken for it...

Funny, I was just talking to my daughter today, and every now and then she'd talk about something and I know where it's leading and I always tease her with heavy hints of No. And today it was about tattoos.
That's exactly what I said to her, that it wouldn't look so pretty when she got older. And we were going back and forth in jest.
And that brought me to telling her how my Mum had got a tattoo. And it was so old school, her cousin I think used a needle and ink and just poked away at a cross on her left wrist.
Bless her, that woman was quite a dare devil.

That's a beautiful story of the tattoo.
Thank you for sharing :D

Sort:  

I love that story of your mother! Sounds like she was a rare type of woman! I don't think I would have any if that's how they still did them, haha!

How old is your daughter? I was actually the oldest out of my sisters when I got my first one. I waited all the way until 21, though looking back now I was still a baby then when I really think about it. I have no regrets on any of my pieces, so I am happy about that. I know plenty of people who aren't quite so happy with their early choices. Perhaps because my parents were so open about it and had their own body art it made me understand more how real it is when you commit to engraving something into your skin for a lifetime!

Though I'm not too worried about what mine will look like later on, it is a real consideration that you definitely don't want to take lightly. So good for you mama for making sure your daughter does think about it!

Thanks for popping in, and I'm glad you enjoyed my story! Perhaps some time soon I'll share some of the others that I have. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62708.03
ETH 2457.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62