Sort:  

This is a sweet story! Loved it! The part where she came back with her little ones was especially charming! 😊

Well adapted to living with humans in the suburbs.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 4 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 187 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

What a lovely surprise @trufflepig I am honoured with your visit.

@joanstewart,

Joan, great story ... it brought back memories from my own childhood. I've submitted my entry as well. I love the subject matter and hope we get lots of entries.

Quill

Never having written a short story for children, one definitely has to put it into perspective. I will be going to visit entries soon Quill.

You certainly know how to put a touching story together Lady Joan.
This one is going to be hard to beat.
Best of luck in the contest.
Blessings!

Going back down memory lane thirty years ago, then trying to write it down, taking age into consideration, all a first for me.

Yes she was an extraordinary little bird, with me having some (flat warts) mussy on the neck she would peck, you knew she was around with stinging reminders perched on the shoulder whilst cooking.

Very good, a fine children's story

Thanks @wales look forward to reading your story.

Great story Joan @joanstewart. Love a happy ending. 😊

A bird not put in a cage, is a happy bird indeed @redheadpei.

You brought a tear to my eye with that delightful ending! What a perfectly sweet story for #featheredfriday!

Birds play such a big part in our lives Melinda thank you for visiting and comment.

They sure do play a part in my life!

A great short story I really enjoyed reading

Not something I have done before, found it interesting to try.

You did greta and should do more ;)

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

Thanks for landing here @theluvbug

I love birds and stories about them. Well done.
I was intrigued by the stories told yesterday in a bird show showing off the hunting prowess of various eagles and other raptors. the audience laughed at the antics of some of the birds and I learned a great deal from the two Falconers.

I have never been to a bird show I believe there are some places up in the Drakensberg where they rehabilitate birds to go back into the wild. Sadly some never make it back to total freedom but are well cared for @justjoy.

That was a beautiful story @joanstewart and beautifully written!! I loved that you added the gifs in the spots that you did as well!! 💖

Thanks for enjoying and sharing your thoughts @deerjay

You are welcome @joanstewart!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60192.33
ETH 2321.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50