HAPPINESS should be our WEALTH - not money!

in #powerhousecreatives6 years ago (edited)

20190122_084703.jpg

I think it is safe to say that I have reached an age and stage in my life where my priorities are completely shifting! (Oh dear, I think this means I am old! Haha) We all spend good portions of our lives in a “conditioned state of mind” – between the education system and the working world there really isn’t much time for the exploration of anything else. We are taught to conform during our school years and then we enter the working world and exercise a whole lot more of that. As adults, we sacrifice massive portions of our lives all in aid of, well… MONEY! How bloody SAD is that!!

If I look at my own “life-style” – I consider myself very blessed! I was a business owner for seventeen years, so “answering to a boss” was a concept almost foreign to me. I had complete freedom and flexibility time wise - which allowed me to come and go as I pleased, therefore being able to partake in my sons life the way a mother should and it also afforded me social opportunities that many others do not have… but all of this too, came at a cost - with enormous amounts of stress (as any business owner would know) as well as the fact that even though you are “available” – you are ALWAYS working! – ALWAYS!!!


happy 1.png
SOURCE

I was not able to walk out of work and leave it behind - completely donating myself to my son and family. My laptop was always open and we juggled it most days with a bit of work and then a bit of play… and then once he went to bed, I would continue to work. I will say this… despite the fact that I was exceptionally financially stressed on most days of any given month – I was still in a much more fortunate financial situation than many others, but it came with about ten truckloads worth of stress… and stress depletes the quality of life. True story - and the older I get, the more I question its worth. I would often look at those with FAR simpler lives. No, they did not have as much as some, materialistically - but they had SO MUCH MORE in terms of quality and were therefore a lot happier.

Happiness should be our wealth, not money - and I cannot help but beg the question… I know money is necessary – but is it all really worth it at the end of the day?


extravagent.jpg
SOURCE

As most of you know, I made the decision to walk away from all of that “stress” at the beginning of 2018 when I hopped onto Steemit full time, and as Murphy would have it… it proved to be the most financially challenging year I have ever had compliments of the markets – but you know what?! I would not change it for the world!!!! It was the most STRESS FREE year I have had in almost 20 years! I have been able to wake up without having anxiety attacks or going to sleep wishing I could just slip into a coma! I have had TRUE freedom and now know what I had been sacrificing all of those years and I will NEVER do that again! Not for any amount of money! If we do not live a life that makes us happy, then our life serves absolutely NO purpose to us whatsoever…

When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy’. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life. ― John Lennon


Quotefancy-1582629-3840x2160.jpg
SOURCE

HEADER PHOTO TAKEN WITH MY SAMSUNG GALAXY NOTE 9

line1.png

EARN STEEM - AUTO-POST TO STEEMIT FROM INSTAGRAM

CLICK HERE TO SET IT UP


text15.png

JOIN ME ON INSTAGRAM TOO


Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea.png

Jaynie.gif

Posted from Instagram via Share2Steem

line1.png

WHO ARE THE

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

The Power House Creatives is a discord community of individuals who are committed to producing content which adds value across multiple platforms. We are STRONGLY focused on supporting our fellow members individual growth as well as offering support to those that are still trying to get ahead. We are a CLOSE KNIT community of individuals, each with our own strengths, passions and input, yet ALL willing to go the extra mile for our family members... WHY? - because, simply put - we CARE about one another and MANY HANDS make light work! - THAT is what FAMILY is about! - To infinity and beyond...

line1.png

INTERESTED IN SUPPORTING CURATION INITIATIVES?

@theluvbug regularly supports the Steemit community with upvotes and resteems of great content which is really adding value to this platform, but in order to grow and be able to offer MORE SUPPORT, @theluvbug needs your help - with upvotes and resteems of the latest curation announcements on that profile.

Sort:  

It was the most STRESS FREE year I have had in almost 20 years!

You may have loved being your own boss and having your own business but sometimes the trade off of lost time with family can weigh heavily on your mind, body and soul. You made the right choice last year!

I could not agree more @goldendawne!!!!! hehehe It is unnerving when you are finally smacked in the face with the comparative reality of just how MUCH value it SUCKED from your life!

Great aticle, it is important to go after what you believe in. You continue your online business or you are full time on Steem blockchain?

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks :) Appreciate the positive input :) And yes blockchain activity is all I am involved with now.

You can live with only of this amount you made in the last 30 days of activity here?

Well aren't YOU BRAZEN lol! Steem is not the only crypto I have lol - and oh, I live in South Africa. haha so this would be the one instance where our crumbling economy stands in my favour ;)

oh, and I do recall mentioning it being one of the most financially challenging years I have had...

Even for me, 2018 was so damn hard and my ultimate goal is to work full time from the crypto space. I keep believing in this awesome niche because I see the great potential of it. :)

Well keep doing that! You won't regret it in the long run. The ones that didn't stick it out will be crying like babies!

That and good health for all.

Posted using Partiko Android

Agreed!!! :)

Jaynie, you need 17 votes more to equalize with team-cn. Goodluck!

Posted using Partiko Android

😗😗

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome post and write up, it actually really helped me today! Sometimes we just need to take a deep breath and understand that everything is fine:) x

I am really glad to hear that!!!! And yes you are 100% correct :)

I think people will only come to doubt its worth when they have stable financial situation therefore the security. For young people who just step into working environment, we won't doubt the worth of money, we need it for car, rental and future family planning as well.

The sad thing though, is most people spend their lives slaving away to attain just those things, never reaching them to their "satisfaction" (therefore making it an endless and vicious cycle) and then they wake up one day and realise that they have missed out on their whole life.

Yea then that's very sad. I think that's an extreme example. We need to find the balance.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes that is exactly what it is all about, but the reality is that is often the one thing lacking.

Yea very true. BTW you wrote a good post that bring awareness. It let's us to ponder about priority in life.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you :) Appreciate the feedback... always nice to hear :)

You are wise beyond your years. Not old.
I adore Lennon quotes, he was special in understanding the value of family, so much so he made his firstborn his priority walking away from touring.

People thought he was crazy, however, the videos I have seen are loving.

Great photo. Where you live is so beautiful.

Aaaah thank you darling lady!!! You are too kind you know!!! xxx Yeah, makes me think of the song "Watching the wheels" - which I assume is probably related to that decision?

Yes, that is one that comes to mind.
You have your little guy to raise and there is so much love there.

oh yes!!! There certainly is!!! I am truly blessed to have such a beautiful soul as my son!

Hi @jaynie!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.336 which ranks you at #715 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 7 places in the last three days (old rank 708).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 214 contributions, your post is ranked at #40.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63207.55
ETH 2571.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82