You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travel adventures - Český Šternberk

Howdy delishtreats! I've heard that the United States is ridiculously far behind the rest of the world in internet services and technology. Why that would be I don't know but being in the country we have very few options. we are used to ours going offline often, for 30 minutes or a few hours..it's been one of my biggest problems in trying to do well in the League, plus my old computer stalls out and takes forever to load pages. lol

But anyway, our internet provider switched to a different type of signal which our receiver from them doesn't get, our old receiver is not compatible with their new signal. But they didn't tell us that. We are used to it going out so the first day we didn't think much about it. The second day we called and they sent out a technitian and he told us what was going on. But by the time he got a new system installed on the roof it had been almost 2 full days.
Your system sounds like a dream!

Sort:  

What about getting a new provider? Or is that not possible?

Hahaha, I can't even imagine facing such issues in this century :D

howdy again delishtreats! yes we have searched a great deal trying to find a new provider. We are far enough out in the country that there are very few signal towers out here so even the major companies like AT & T doesn't have close enough towers. So far we've only found two companies that can get us service out here but I heard that technology is catching up so hopefully in a few years the situation will improve. It's a big open country with many areas still with few people living there so there has been no need for towers in some areas.
Our internet has been pitifully slow to at 10 mps! Almost everyone is at least running at 25 mps and some are advertising at 100mps. But going to one of your posts it takes 10 to 20 minutes to load the page because of all the photos! And sometimes it won't load at all!

Seriously? Wow! I'm getting nervous when my post is loading for about 5 seconds, lol. Then I think that something is wrong :D It must be very annoying to spend so much time waiting. But well, another solution would be that you stop following my posts ;) That would definitely save you a lot of time :)

How much do you pay monthly for your internet service then? I wonder how much they ask if you face so many issues..

haha! stop following your posts! lol...you can't get rid of me that easy delishtreats! I just go do other things while it's loading but it IS a pain. we were paying almost $70 a month for very slow internet with a top speed of 10mps! lol. But our new plan is 25mps for ..not sure but I think it's $40 a month but I think that's just for one year and then it goes up in price. We have very few options because of our location, that's all. Technology will eventually catch up, I know you all are very superior in this area. this one tiny little niche! lol. well, that and vegan food restaurants, that might be kinda rare in Texas.

That's also a solution - didn't think about doing something else while loading :) That sounds quite expensive so I hope that it will get better for you :)

Hahaha, it's good when it's rare because then people would even travel to get there as there wouldn't be any other option ;)

Don't you ever sleep? :D

howdy delishtreats! are you just getting up, is it early morning there? Well, I'm behind on where I wanted to be because I spent all evening watching the Super Bowl and another show after that...I usually don't spend 4 hours watching tv, in fact I never waste that much time! I know you don't either.
Our internet service is expensive? Why, what does yours cost? in dollars approximately? lol.
It's still early for me, I usually go to bed about 2:30 am!

It's 8:30 AM here.. I do watch movies in the evening and when I have a lazy day I just spend it in front of TV without feeling guilty. It doesn't happen often but if it does then it's the way it was supposed to be and I'm not going to feel bad about it.. But I make sure to go to bed before 11 PM, then read and turn off the light around 12 PM as otherwise I wouldn't be able to wake up in the morning :)

Mine costs around 30 USD a month. I'm not sure about the speed but as I said before I have no issues :)

What time is it now there?

It's 1:43am here now, getting close to me closing up for the night. I have to take Jack out for the last time so he can go to the bathroom. lol. What happens if you just lay down, turn off the light and try to go to sleep, do you have to read first?
$30 is an amazing price for a fast internet service and yours has to be very fast!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59588.19
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50