(IJCH) HitBTC? In two words: "They Suck!"

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

(IJCH) HitBTC? In two words: "They Suck!"

HitBTC 640.jpg

IJCH - Inside JaiChai's Head

(Meaning: My Warped, Personal Opinions and Musings)

Source

From the Author:

Salutations.

I am JaiChai.

And if I haven't had the pleasure of meeting you before, I'm delighted to make your acquaintance now.

Source

I invite you to interact with everyone, learn, and have as much fun as possible!

For my returning online friends, "It's always great to see you again!"

Source

Point of Departure?

emding.jpg
Source

It all began two and a half days ago (Tuesday July 31, 2019) with these Tweets to/from HitBTC Support:

tweet big.png
Source

"Kick, punt and pass - the oldest trick in the book," I thought.

Interacting with HitBTC Technical Support - A Truly Sisyphean Act!

Source

As recommended by HitBTC Support on Twitter, I sent the same message to HitBTC Technical Support via email.

Later that night I got an email from the HitBTC Technical Support Team stating, "In order to begin the "rectification process", you must first deposit 0.01 BTC (~$98 USD)..."

Source

Here's my email reply (sans images, of course):

Let me make sure I understand the situation here, okay?

So you are telling me that I must deposit $97 worth of BTC in order to "rectify" my account?

How did it get "unrectified" in the first place?

Source

All I did was deposit 1,000 PRE from my MEW (My Ether Wallet) into my HitBTC account.

Source

How did that action cause the trading price of PRE on your exchange to decrease by one whole decimal point to the left?

Source

Hypothetically, say I do deposit $97 worth of BTC, when will your promised refund really occur?

And seriously?

Why is $97 worth of BTC needed to "rectify" (whatever the Heck that means?) my account when the PRE in question is only worth $31?

Never mind.

This is too strange for me to wrap my mind around at the moment.

Source

So, per your rules, I will wait until 8/2/2019.

Then the mandatory "time out" period for committing the cardinal sin of getting a new password - yet another one of HitBTC's hidden "house rules/penalties", will be over and I will immediately withdraw my PRE tokens.

And that will be a relief, the end of a very short and unpleasant business relationship as a HitBTC customer.

Source

Stated differently, unless you can explain to me how all of this makes any sense at all and fix the warped PRE trading price (an obvious technical error/bug on your exchange), I will simply take my PRE off the HitBTC exchange and go elsewhere.

To be honest, I am sorely disappointed with HitBTC's "confidence-destroying" way of doing business like this.

But hey, it appears that you and the team at HitBTC couldn't care less about it or me; so maybe I should just move on as soon as possible.

After I regain custody of my PRE tokens and they're safely in my personal wallet, I guess we will be done.

BTW, I deposited my PRE tokens into my HitBTC wallet/account solely to experience - firsthand - how it's like to be a HitBTC customer.

Now I regret it.

Anyway, back to the gross down-price of PRE on your exchange and my HitBTC account.

IMHO, I didn't break my account ("unrectify" it?); therefore, the onus is clearly on HitBTC to fix (rectify?) it, not me.

Source

And definitely not at the "rectumfied price" of 0.01 BTC; which appears to be a conveniently expedient, ad hoc procedure that aims to discourage further probing by the complainant.

If HitBTC continues this strategy of blame deflection and cowardly inaction, surely these shortcomings in both customer service and honest, transparent business practices will come to the fore; adding to the growing pool of complaints already on record.

When that happens, HitBTC's reputation can only get steadily worse.

I would truly appreciate your assistance in this matter.

Or you may give me some other viable options.

For me, it's a no-brainer.

Just make the withdrawal process fast and frictionless for me and I shall be on my way.

It's a shame that someone like me, a brand new HitBTC customer, faces this kind of situation from the git-go.

What a shame, indeed.

Source

Respectfully,

JaiChai

(End of Email Response)

When - or should I say "If", HitBTC Technical Support responds, I will surely post the follow-up to this story.

Seriously,

Source

And...

Source

Parting Shot:

I must confess that after this stupid and time-consuming experience, my prevailing thought is -

fuck it.jpg
Source

By JaiChai

Submitted to ponder in your free moments.

May you and yours be well and love life today.

Namaste.

Really Appreciate You Stopping By.

Truly hope to see you again!

And if you liked my post, kindly Upvote, Comment, Follow, and Resteem.

About the Author

Source

Believing that school was too boring, he dropped out of High School early; only to earn an AA, BS and MBA in less than 4 years much later in life – while working full-time as a Navy/Marine Corps Medic.

In spite of a fear of heights and deep water, he performed high altitude, free-fall parachute jumps and hazardous diving ops in deep, open ocean water.

Source

After 24 years of active duty, he retired in Asia.

Since then, he's been a full-time, single papa and actively pursuing his varied passions (Writing, Disruptive Technology, Computer Science and Cryptocurrency - plus more hobbies too boring or bizarre for most folk).

He lives on an island paradise with his teenage daughter, longtime girlfriend and three dogs.

Source

Source

"Power House Creatives - Superlative Member Support and the Supreme Welcome Party for all new Steemians!" - JaiChai

(More articles by JaiChai can be found on the Busy.org website. Use this link to visit Busy.org. Better yet, come join the Busy.org community!)

Source

Source

"My mind was a terrible thing to waste..." - JaiChai

Sort:  

LOL... sorry, I just had to laugh... it's like a bad comedy! I have to say, HitBTC is THE worst exchange that I've had any experience with... well, cryptopia was pretty bad as well, but they are dead. The withdrawal fees on that platform are insane... sigh... lesson learnt... good luck with getting your account rectified!

couple other commenters have pointed this out but yeah, you weren't contacted by the exchange support, these were scammers not associated with them, they're facing criminal charges in Canada! Check @kemoglo comment for the sources.

Good that you didn't send them money though.

Holy shit! You got scammed but this is not really hitbtc at fault. @Hitbtcassist the twitter handle owner's were taken to justice, they were a couple canadians commiting fraud left and right.

Couple articles on the matter:
https://www.justice.gov/usao-or/pr/two-canadian-nationals-indicted-bitcoin-fraud
https://www.ccn.com/canadian-bitcoin-scammers-fool-u-s-citizen-230k-twitter-spoof/

It was a scammer trying to get money off of you that used a hitbtc veil, that's all, thankfully you didn't send him any funds so you're good!

Wow, these guys look to be out of control with a very poorly run enterprise that ignores and penalizes folks for simply trying to inform them that their calculations are wrong. That they want to charge you a hundred bucks to rectify their own mess, shows they are very shady at the least.

I think "outright criminals" describes them better though. Dumping them is the right course, and a bad rep is what they deserve!

Thanks for your comments.

And you are absolutely right, "outright criminals"!

Namaste, JaiChai

Sounds like a terrible scam of a company. Thanks for the warning.

I never did trust HitBTC so I never put funds on it.

One more sadly project. To much of that in cryptoworld .

Posted using Partiko Android

weren't these @hitbtcassist twitter taken down? They were a couple canadians pretending to be hitbtc. They got fined, not sure what that ended on but I remember seeing the news that it was a couple dudes scamming people, not even related to hitbtc. Their twitter handle is @hitbtc and nothing else.

Those guys weren't support, they were scammers, check the sources posted in this very comment section, smart from you not to send them any funds, but silly to call hitbtc scammers as they're not responsible for the messages you received

Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63