You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This is what NOT panic-buying looks like

I was looking online the other day and saw that they reacted before it was an issue and this is a very good thing because they don't have the money or medical resources to combat this at all. Turns out it was a very good move on their part. I don't think we can fully rely on the numbers that are being reported but zero deaths is probably a winning situation!
I didn't get here until the end of Feb so I guess it had all calmed down by then.

Sort:  

All things considered, I think Vietnam is probably handling things better than a lot of the world has. That being said, I'm still critical of the stats. If an elderly person passes away, I would guess that there is less likely to be an autopsy done linking it to covid-19. Many parts of the world have a very different relationship with death and see it more as a natural part of life. Those deaths might not be reported as "covid" deaths and the same for people who were already struggling with health issues. Of course, this is all speculation but I think we need to take it into consideration when looking at the data critically. More testing is ultimately going to result in what looks like a higher number of cases.

totally agree with what you said there. I don't have any idea how the testing occurs here and they aren't going to tell us. If they are being truthful and there are really only 250 cases nationwide well... what will they do once they eradicate it? Just not let anyone in at all? That could complicate my visa runs for sure

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57688.87
ETH 3100.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37