Ulog 46: Dehydrating Carrots For The Pantry

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

Preserving Carrots For Later

carrots snap.jpg



Last week I was able to get my hands on some free carrots; not very much just a few one-pound bag of baby carrots from my local grocery store. And since we don't eat carrots too often I figured I needed a way to preserve them for future recipes.

Our carrot eating menu is such a small amount that even this little bag of baby carrots would probably go bad before we had a chance to use them.

But I do like to use shredded carrots in recipe (ie. soups, stews, coleslaw) and, after all, the one-pound bag was free. So who am I to pass up something that is free.

I read up on some recipe and homesteading websites about how to dehydrate carrots and got mixed reviews of whether to blanch or not to blanch before placing the carrots on the dehydrator. I chose NOT to blanch.



Ran the un-blanched baby carrots through my mini food processor until they were shredded (on the left). Then spread them out onto my prepared dehydrator sheets; trying to keep big clumps to a minimum for easier drying.

As the dehydrating process went on, I would remove the shredded carrots that were dry enough, then spread out the ones that needed more time or were too clumped together. The total time for dehydrating was about 4 hours total. I started with three trays in the dehydrator and ended up combining the carrots down to one by the time it was finished.

So now I have a pint jar almost completely full of dehydrated (shredded) carrots to add to recipes in the future. No waste of buying an entire bag only to use a few at a time. I can measure out how much I need and know I'll have more for the next time.

My mom also got a bag of the carrots for the freebie coupon and is giving me hers as well. I'll be doing the same with her bag as I want to have a nice stash on hand; plus I want to make some vegetable broth mix with my other herbs and vegetables (celery, spinach, etc) that I've been dehydrating over the last few months.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_round.png

Join Us On Discord

Sort:  

I had never thought of dehydrating carrots! Thanks for sharing this :)

That is pretty awesome! Honestly not something I would ever have thought of doing!

I've never dehydrated carrots - I bet they will be lovely in a vegetable broth!

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.787 which ranks you at #1393 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1392).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 356 contributions, your post is ranked at #34.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

That's a very cool way to not waste food! I must confess it has never occurred to me to dehydrate carrots... I always think of self-picked mushrooms, fruits and the like, but not carrots. Learn something new every day!

I don't know how many times I've bought beautiful fresh organic carrots and ended up giving them to the worms or digging them in the ground.

I eat a lot of raw food but not keen on raw carrot ~ And it's too hot to cook vegies right now ~ So dehydrating the carrots will be a wonderful solution. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

We make a sweet dish with these shredded carrots...just heat it with puree ghee, add milk cream and sugar/jaggery and left it dry...👌...Gajar Ka halwa

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

When I get some money in, I have to get me one of those dehydrator thingies. They really seem like a good thing to have in your kitchen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63594.33
ETH 3039.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10