Ulog 131: The Ever Growing Garden Pantry

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

With the never-ending current to-do list, you would think I wouldn't come up with new projects around the homestead. Between keeping up with the gardens' harvests, preserving every other day and the daily chores, I didn't think I had it in me to rearrange, expand and start a new pantry.

But I Do Have It In Me...

shelf.jpg

Our current walk-in pantry is getting... well, overloaded; and I fear the shelves may not be able to hold up under the weight of all the canning I plan for this season.

While I had been busy earlier this year with canning beans (kidney, pinto and baked) and meats (chicken soup, pulled pork and chicken broth/stock), I still have tomatoes, corn and cucumbers to add to this already over-stuffed pantry and its shelves.

So instead of waking up one morning to a crash with a shelf giving under the pressure of all this food I painstakingly took the time, sweat and love to make, I knew it was time to venture out and make a new pantry area in our large kitchen.

A quick trip (yeah, right) to a semi-local big box home improvement store provided me with a selection of shelving units. I decided on the same one I have in the homesteading and gardening/grow room where I store all my empty canning jars and supplies.

It holds up to 1700-pounds, so that should do it... I hope!

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

This weekend while Mr Golden D worked the ten and twelve hour shifts, I set to work getting some bread and butter pickles canned, as well as starting in on my pounds and pounds of tomatoes to preserve for salsa, marinara sauce, chili sauce and pizza sauce.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

First up... bread and butter pickles!

Tomatoes were next... I am still exhausted from all the canning even two days later.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

TIBLogo


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

That’s a lot of work but certainly worthwhile when you are enjoying all these veggies throughout the other seasons.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated curated by @freedompoint on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.889 which ranks you at #1313 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 151 contributions, your post is ranked at #121.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Nothing is better than homemade food.
Love the fresh foods and the pantry!

Nothing is better
Than homemade food. Love the fresh
Foods and the pantry!

                 - rem-steem


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Nice to see you are expanding your operations and trying think ahead! Canning always looks like quite the processes. Nothing something I’ve tried yet but one of these years I’ll finally have a garden that warrants my attempt at it.

Wow! Looks like you are stacking up for world war 3 my friend.
Kindly put some of those bottles on a raft and float them across the pond here to us!
Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94