Ulog 130: Saving Up The Greens From My Garden

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

As the summer begins it winding down in the garden, my first planting of greens (spinach and arugula) are starting to slow down. So before these greens flowered and went to seed, I figured this was the best time to gather up and harvest the greens and dehydrate them to use later in the year.

greens.jpg

For the last few years, I've been taking the greens from my garden and doing this.

I keep the dehydrated greens in large mason jars and when I need them, I just scoop out the amount I need and these help add extra nutrients to certain dishes and meals, as well as allow me to get the most from a harvest and season.

Some of the ways I use this green mixture are when I am preparing up a meat mixture for meatloaf or meatballs. I just add in a 1/4 or 1/2 cup to the meat and other seasonings. Not only am I adding in some servings of vegetables to the meal, but the dark green color of the dried greens add such a fantastic aesthetic to the food.

  • When making lasagna, stuffed shells or baked ziti, these greens add such a flavor to the (ricotta) cheese mixture I use for layering.
  • Add a pinch of it to scrambled eggs when frying them up.
  • The perfect addition to soups and stews.
  • Perfect for stir-fries
  • Wonderful when crumbled on top of roasted veggies
  • Crumbled up a small amount into homemade salad dressing for a kick of something-something

This greens mixture is so versatile.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

TIBLogo


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

My greens quit growing last month (it was very sad). I'm hoping you got enough to last a good way through the season! Do you do anything special to dehydrate them?

Just on one of my dehydrators. Usually takes about 6-8 hours.
I have two half gallon mason jars full; so that should be enough... I hope!

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

What a great idea. I have never dried greens just herbs. That is awesome.

I had never thought of it before either; until I saw a YouTube video where a homesteader did this EVERY year.
Not one to waste food, I jumped on the band-wagon to start doing this myself.

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.889 which ranks you at #1313 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 133 contributions, your post is ranked at #11.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

What a great idea! Thanks for sharing!

Posted using Partiko iOS

You may have just inspired me to include some more greens in the garden next year. I never considered dehydrating them though. Will have to look into that.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63643.10
ETH 2582.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75