You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On the Road with the Birds! See Ya! Day 1

Hey, @birdsinparadise.

Ah, iguanas. I guess they pop up when you least expect them. :)

We've had a few run ins with them over the years. Nothing major, really. The most notable time would have been the first visit I made to Tulum in Mexico. I was with a friend of mine and we were there to visit the ruins that sit on a rise above the ocean. Expensive beach front property now if it were ever to be developed.

The iguanas were inside on the ruins site, and the funny thing was, they got bigger and bigger the farther in we went. There were people all around, and while they iguanas more or less stuck to themselves, they didn't seem to phased by the humans milling around. We also only saw them one at a time. They didn't seem to like their own kind much either.

My wife has eaten iguana. She says they taste like chicken. Go figure. :)

Sort:  

My son in law wanted to catch one last time they visited. He said they were quite tasty but we didn't see any. I think I might be intimidated with a "gang" of iguanas. They move surprisingly fast you know, lol Luckily they're vegetarians right? They do pop in uninvited and make themselves at home :)

Yeah. Surprisingly quick. That was the only thing I didn't like about them. They weren't menacing, they just moved way too fast. :)

I think after the experiences I've had with them, it would be weird to run into a gang of them. I'd wonder what was up, since they don't seem like the ganging up type.

I'd kind of wonder about the health of an iguana myself. I mean, I don't know if they're grown domestically to be eaten, or if it's all caught in the wild, but there's always some kind of disease floating around, and even though they could look healthy on outside, I wouldn't know if they were actually okay for eating or not.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.21
ETH 2441.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68