I Am Anubis (a powerhousecreatives contest)

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

Anubis, Egyptian god of the dead, inventor of embalming and the judges of souls. Protector to those who are on their journey to the afterlife, Anubis is amongst the most important deities in ancient Egypt and is of or before the first dynasty.

He is imaged as a black Jackal or as head of a Jackal and body of a man. Why the Jackal? Because the animals would roam in cemeteries digging up the dead and eat them. Why black? Because it is the colour of fertile soil which is highly respected, black became the colour of rebirth and fortune.

When a person dies, they would find themselves standing before Anubis presenting their hearts to be weighed on a scale of justice against the feather of Ma'at (goddess of truth). If the heart proves to be true the soul is then passed on to the afterlife (immortality). If it is not pure, it is then given to the goddess Ammit (portraid as part hippo, lion and crocodile aka man eaters) to eat, dying a second time and the soul would become restless forever.

He had many jobs and many powers. He was highly worshipped in the early tines of Egypt but less as time went by.

text15.png

So why would I want to be Anubis if I were a god?

(Putting aside that he's male and I'm female.)

This dates back from a time before me, but let's start from just 20 yrs back.

I've always had a love for ancient Egypt and the one God that stood out to me the most was Anubis. In almost every image I would see, he was there. In history class when we would study about ancient Egyptian times, there were things that I already knew without knowing how I knew it beforehand. It was special, it was beautiful and it was a time like no other. My fascination grew the more I dug into it and I felt like I was part of it. I bought books; how to read heiroglyphs, Egyptian gods and goddesses, healings and potions, Egyptian reincarnation. And for the longest time I couldn't figure out why I had the strongest ties to this time and why I had such a love and belief in it.

Of course it would have to be from the culture, the art, the beauty and how intelligent and sophisticated they were, no? But it felt like there was something more but I couldn't pin point it. Until one day...

Someone came over for a visit, a person with great psychic abilities (up to you to believe this part, even I question it because it seems to good to be true, but hey who knows?) And the conversation of Ancient Egypt was brought up.

"I've noticed you have Anubis tattooed on the left side of your back"

" Yeah, I believe he is one to value. He is important to me, just don't know why exactly apart from who he is."

"Do you know why he is on your left?"

"Just felt right to have him there. This is the second Anubis tattoo that I have of him."

" Your left side, not only is it the side of your heart but also your spirit side. Your ties to Anubis is strong, for you were once an embalmer (priest) wearing the helmet of Anubis."

A sudden wave of wind hit my house right after she said that. On a calm night, after midnight, this strong wind was the confirmation. The wind made absolutely no sense! It came out of nowhere as it was seriously the calmest of nights.

text15.png

The embalming process was of high importance. I will assume that you know the process; removal of the organs, put in canopic jars, even the brain was picked out through the nose using a long hook instrument, body being emptied of their blood by using natron (salt) and then stuffing it with linen if need be to puff out areas that were sunken in. I think I read somewhere they they also filled the body with herbs/oils because of the smell. This whole process could take 70 days to accomplish!

Anyways back to why I would want to be Anubis if I were a god...

Reincarnation is something that has crossed my mind plenty of times. So much mystery when we die, so many questions to something unknown. And the one to know it most is Anubis. He plays the most important role in life/death and for the souls, without him we would be lost.

I would love to be the one to guide your soul to the next step in where you need to be. If it were in times of the past, I would show up to those who would speak ill-will, destruction and and death and remind those of whats to come when they die. Perhaps it would help keep the peace 😁

I believe today we would need such a god as the world is shattered and torn. I would take on the task in order to make it right once again.

Posted using Partiko Android

All pictures are from pixabay.com aside from my tattoos.

Sort:  

I bet Anubis got thirsty helping all them souls, Have a sip of !BEER

Haha! Most definitely! Thank you 😁

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @foxyspirit, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Wonderful, @foxyspirit. You would make a great Anubis and I would trust you to guide me safely to the afterlife. 😊

Amazing tattoo! You definitely feel a connection to Egypt. Must be carryover from a past life,

Thank you! I would do my best 😉

And thanks only parts of the unfinished tattoo is being showed. A whole back price is in progress.

Awesome tattoos! And incredibly interesting story. Anubis was always one of my favourites, too, right along with Horus. Thanks so much for sharing! Reminds me why I also enjoy stories of the Egyptian gods. :)

Thank you! Horus is an amazing god as well. I have only found out that Anubis had a wife and a daughter! I don't know why this didnt come to me before. The stories of the gods are definitely interesting. How they came to be, what they do, what they are for, today it just isn't the same 😔

Your posts take some extra time to be read which is good because some things have to be read in pieces and imagine at the same time. It is certainly your fault that your post is featured so soon again because you are producing such amazing post, lol. Good luck for the contest!

This post has been appreciated and featured in daily quality content rewards. Keep up the good work.

Yes this one was a bit longer than some 😁 I just got right into it. I am passionate about it ☺️

Thank you so much for your support and taking the time to read. Much respect and love you!

What a good story, and how not to want to be if there is that bond, which is believable, well at least I believe it. By the way, I love your tattoos!

Thank you! Thanks for believing 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

I love the ancient Egyptian culture but near as much as you! That is quite the tattoo of Anubis! And a blast into your previous life!
I have felt some very strange connections sometimes that had nothing to do with my current life yet I was pulled to act in certain ways , like the emergence of another person!
Glad you want to make peace and give us al warnings when we are on the wrong track!

Thank you! I'm ad you understand what I'm saying and have experienced it as well.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, that was pretty spooky with the wind and all, on a calm night, considering what was being discussed. If you don't mind me asking, where is your other Anubis tattoo?

My other tattoo is on my lower stomach. Not worth showing. This is the one tattoo that I have that's ugly. I went through an experience where the artist was a fake. Had a fake portfolio and was a bad experience in all. It will be covered up one day.

That wind was something else and not expected. Goosebumps all over when that happened!

I love this, @foxyspirit. And I am sure that you would

show up to those who would speak ill-will, destruction and and death and remind those of whats to come when they die

and I agree

we would need such a god as the world is shattered and torn

Congratulations @foxyspirit! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 7000 comments. Your next target is to reach 7500 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61238.93
ETH 2454.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59