Healthy Treats! | Buddha’s Hands and Lemon Curd

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

DSC_0201 (2).jpg

Have you enjoyed a new Fruit or Veggie this week?


Today is Halloween my friends and a perfect opportunity to share my super spooky fruit found at the market this week!


Buddha’s Hand!


DSC_0209 (2).jpg


Many of you know...


every time I visit the market I look for a new fruit or vegetable. I truly enjoy experimenting with new foods, even though my experiments aren’t always successful, lol. This week I was pleasantly surprised when I spied this bright yellow fruit! Quite a frightening site I would say! lol


DSC_0222 (2).jpg

Citrus Medica var. sarcondactylis ...


or Fingered Citron is an oddly shaped citron native to the Far East. Like most domesticated citrus fruits their home began in China and India. Thought to be a symbol of happiness, longevity and good fortune, it’s often given as gift for the New Year. My grandson was enamored with this fun crazy fingered fruit
DSC_0003 (2).jpg

This fruit smells heavenly….


In fact it’s often used as a decoration, even cultivated as an ornamental tree for patios! I love having it in the kitchen perched in one of my favorite depression glasses! The clean lemon smell is so natural and sweet, it will stay bright and fresh for a couple of weeks, just like a fresh bouquet!

DSC_0206 (2).jpg

No juice though!


Used primarily for its zest, the Buddha’s hand contains no juice or pulp! Infuse it in alcohol or make candied fruit just the way you make candied lemon peel! I chose to use the zest today to make one of my favorite.


Dreamy Lemon Curd!


I love Lemon curd although typically it is quite sweet and not so healthy! It’s amazing served with your favorite scones, morning biscuits and even better served in a dessert tart! You can make it in a healthy way using 5 simple ingredients! 1 can Coconut cream, 2 tbsp. Lemon zest, 1/2 cup Lemon juice, 2 tbsp. Arrowroot powder and 2 tbsp. Maple syrup! Pretty simple right?


Zest those Buddha fingers…


and combine it with the coconut cream. Arrowroot starch is a great thickening agent. Typical Lemon curd will contain eggs but by mixing the arrowroot starch with the lemon juice you will be able to create a luscious lemon curd!
DSC_0015 (2k).jpg

Sweeten it up…


with Maple syrup after combining the lemon juice mixture with the coconut cream. Working with this lemon zest is amazing, so full of fragrance! While heating the lemon curd until it came to a soft boil I was careful to whisk the mixture often. I didn’t want it to burn! Pretty soon the curd began to thicken and I knew we were just about ready! The texture was nice, like a custard!

DSC_0021 (2lp).jpg

Taste, taste, taste…


Is it tart enough? Sweet enough? After tasting, I decided to add a bit more zest and a dash of Maple! You be the judge! Filled my sweet ball jars and into the fridge to be used later!

I Love this cute fruit!


I hope you’ll watch for it the next time you visit your local market! Even if you don’t buy it, take a moment to smell the amazing lemony fragrance! I know you’ll love it!

DSC_0218 (2).jpg


Don’t forget to check out a new fruit or veggie when you visit the market this week. I would love to hear what you find. It’s a great way to spice up your weekly meal plans! Thanks for stopping by today…


And as always, blessings to you all!


loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif

steemusa2.png

Sort:  

Oh yes! We LOVE the Buddha's Hand and it is quite common here in Thailand. One of my favourite things to do is slice in incredibly thinly (slivered) and do the same with some strong 2 year old ginger. And then layer them in a glass jar. You can either cover with alcohol and steep for 3 months - makes an AWESOME shot when you're feeling snuffly and poorly. Or (chinese style) cover it with raw wild honey, making sure to have no trapped air bubbles. Leave it for 1 year !!! Add a tablespoon of the mix to hot water for an amazing cough-cold fixer.

Super nice post - it's been an awfully long time (maybe 20 years?) since I last tasted lemon curd. Might be time again soon. :)


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

Wow!!! Thanks for these amazing recipes @artemislives :) I'll be trying them, as this fruit is quite large, lol I love this lemon curd, its fun to add a spoonfull to my morning acai bowl too! Thank you for your kind words and support! xx

What an interesting fruit and quite apt for Halloween

!trdo
!DERANGED
not its my first time trying deranged LOL

Congratulations @tattoodjay, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @birdsinparadise!
@birdsinparadise will receive 0.58052700 TRDO & @tattoodjay will get 0.38701800 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Thank you @tattoodjay! I thought Halloween would be a perfect day to share it. I'm not familiar with deranged, the name is perfect for Halloween, lol Appreciate your kind support :)

Its a new coin on teem-engine that was just started yesterday

Wow.. crazy fruit! Too bad it has no juice. The curd looks good thoughand I'm sure with a little maple syrup it's delicious. I like this idea of introducing strange or new fruit or veggies to the little ones!

Thanks for sharing

I know, the family really got a kick out of it @senorcoconut! I was surprised there was no juice, but there will be a lot of zest and I might try to make little candied fruits, we'll see. It's fun, trying fruits and veggies which are unfamililiar does require a bit of research and experimentation on my part but I love it :) (the results aren't always positive though, lol) Thanks @senorcoconut, so glad you stopped by

You're welcome 😁. Trial and error is how we do things, if it was always great we wouldn't learn very much.

I'd love to read about the candied fingers one day.

Cheers and good day

@birdsinparadise - wow that's a new one on me, I've never seen or heard of it. But that's a tasty looking recipe for lemon curd. Thanks for sharing!
@tipU curate 2.0

Fun isn't it? It was my first time seeing it as well @blueeyes8960, I just couldn't resist buying it. The family really got a kick out of it and it smells so nice too. A great fragrance in the kitchen :)

What a cool fruit ☺👍👍☺

Happy Halloween 🎃🎃🙏🎃🎃

Posted using Partiko Android

Crazy isn't it!! Thank you for stopping by @thereikiforest! Glad you enjoyed my halloween fun! lol

That's really something unusual! If it has no juice, I'm curious to know what it looks like inside. Is it all pith?

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes! I'm anxious to experiment with it. It's so pretty and smells so nice I didn't want to cut it yet, lol I've already been given some amazing ideas from friends, I'll let you know :)

Oh yes, please do let me know!

Posted using Partiko Android

What an usual looking fruit, definitely would not miss that when out shopping for fruit @birdsinparadise.

Squeeze out lemons I put the "shells" into the fridge, leaving it smelling lemony fresh for at least a week.

Your lemon curd looks to be tasty, enjoy!

I love the fresh lemon smell as well @joanstewart. What a great idea to place the shells in the fridge, I'll have to do that! Thanks!

I've fallen in love with this fruit, I've never seen it or knew of its existence, it would be good to find one of these someday!

I know isn't it fun, and it smells heavenly @fmbs25 :) This was the first time I had seen it as well. I'm looking forward to experimenting with it! Thanks for stopping by!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 25 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 2 SBD worth and should receive 119 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you @trufflepig :) Appreciate your support today!

deranged You just received DERANGED @birdsinparadise Keep up the great work, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60777.49
ETH 2913.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59