sexual abuse and abuse by powerful men in positions of power:emotional abuse

in #power6 years ago

I wanted to share this link on sexual abuse and abuse by powerful men in positions of power, because the link I've posted has​ helped me to understand emotional abuse.
As a domestic abuse survivor, the most powerful seminar I ever attended on the subject was a talk by Queering 613, where one of the speakers told us to break the cycle of abuse by explaining unhealthy power relationships.
It's easy to repeat abusive behaviors if you've been emotionally abused. The Power and Control Wheel helps to recognize the signs of emotional abuse while the Equality Wheel explains how to overcome abusivebehaviors​s. Much like Foucault’s awakening from an unconscious state, these pictures have been eye-opening for me.
I'm trying to be more respectful by listening to people and be more accountable by admitting when I am wrong. I think changing rape culture requires an effort from me and from all of us to examine when we have taken advantage of unequal power relationships and when we have been hurt by them. This is going to sound cliché but I don’t think a reckoning is coming, I think it’s here, and it’s up to each and every one of us to make a change.
https://www.democracynow.org/…/abuses_of_power_heather_mcgh…

See Heather McGee expand the conversation on sexual abuse explaining why the patriarchy must be changed

https://www.democracynow.org/2017/11/29/abuses_of_power_heather_mcghee_on

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61191.20
ETH 2972.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48