The start of powdercoating

in #powdercoating7 years ago

Hey just wanted to make a post about my start with powder coating. So i started looking into powder coating because I am not good with spray painting or painting in general because I am impatient with it. I either get runs or orange peel or some kind of issue that makes it look bad due to not waiting long enough between coats or just putting on way to much just to get it done faster. Now powder coating takes a while but while the part is baking in the oven you can do your clean up and everything so you aren't just waiting around. I also got into powder coating due to my hobby of working on cars and while I love making my cars fast i also want it to look as good as i can and powder goes a long ways.

So first I am going to talk about the setup that I have. I bought the powder coating system from Harbor Freight due to it being on sale for 60 bucks so I bought that with some red powder coat.
image_25813.jpg

For the oven I bought a normal used household electric oven for bigger parts and for smaller parts i bought the Eastwood powder coating oven and so far its awesome. I haven't used the household oven yet but i am going to try some rims soon and I will test the household oven then.
p15635.jpg20180125_211539.jpg

Also bought a Porter cable 6 gallon pancake compressor due to the powder coating gun only uses 5psi-10psi of air and so far has worked perfect except it being very loud.
885911012256.jpg

For the powder coating booth my dad and I built a box a lot bigger then i think we need but it will let me do whatever i want without issues. We built it out of plywood and used laminate that is usually used to laminate maps so the inside of the booth is very smooth to help with clean up. We put 7/16" all thread so we can hang the parts to be powder coated and on the right side of the box used a grounding strap to tie the two together so the ground passes through both rods.

20180310_181733.jpg20180310_181758.jpg20180310_195338.jpg

I also bought a stand from Eastwood that i haven't tried yet but seems like it will come in handy but i like the booth better
p15556.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63606.08
ETH 2603.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83