Sitting is the New Smoking

in #posture8 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemers!

This is my first post, so I thought I would tell you a little about myself first.

My personal passion is helping people lead healthy lifestyles to increase their own human performance. I am known for educating my clients in regards to topics such as oxygen, water, nutrition, fitness, rest, and managing stress, whether it be chemical, physical, or emotional stress.

I am a 42 y/o Wellness Doctor in Denver, Colorado. I am the Clinic Director at Moyer Total Wellness, which is best known for outstanding Massage Therapy as well as having great Chiropractic Care. I have worked at the Cenegenics Medical Institute, which is the world-wide leader in Age Management Medicine.

As a Doctor of Chiropractic, I am very concerned with the sitting posture. I would imagine that most of the readers on Steemit are at their computer too much, just like the rest of the world. So, I thought I would use my opening post on Steem to talk about how Sitting is the New Smoking.

If you sit too much, certain muscle get tight and certain muscles get weak. You can not be great if you are in pain. If can not be great if you spend your time in doctors' office. So many people sit on their way to work, sit at work, sit on their way home, and sit when they get home. The body was not designed to sit, it is designed to be out walking around, pushing and pulling, and occasionally sprinting to save our lives! The stagnation of sitting not only causes muscle and joint problems and pain, it also is a risk factor for cancer, obesity, heart disease, diabetes and depression. We are basically sitting ourselves to death!

This is the first of many hopes on the topics of healthy habits that improve your mood, your energy, your focus and your productivity. Todays' lesson is simply stated: Move More & Sit Less and you will get better at anything you want to do in your life.

Here are a few tips to help:

  1. Get a Stand Up Desk
  2. Get up from your computer every hour and stretch
  3. Do not sit for more than 5 hours a day
  4. Get on the floor more at home

Remember! My Goal is to Help You Get Better at What You Do!

![] ()
![] ()
![] ()

Sort:  

interesting. i smoke all day sitting .. whats the next danger?

Thanks for reading...I will post on the next bad / good habits soon!

Great advice, I'm sitting up correctly now, thank you!

Sitting up straight is not the battle, it is sitting period...
Sitting is stagnation, move around more today, feel better tomorrow!

Thank you for your advice and commitment! Having people with special expertise and talents makes STEEMIT a great place to be.

Congratulations @moyerwellness! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59035.93
ETH 2519.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47