What is the Difference between a Post and a Comment.

in #posts8 years ago (edited)

Well that's a silly question.
A post is what I'm writing (and you are reading) right now. It's something that hours of effort are spent composing and minutes of thoughtful contemplation is spent reading......right? (Well maybe not hours but at least a few minutes.) Some THOUGHT is put into a post. It's not spontaneous.

My understanding is that Steemit rewards four posts(articles) a day at full value. After four posts a day the reward declines dramatically. After about ten posts it's about zero.

A comment is a response to an article (post). The time and effort expended is much less. Many times (most times) a comment is just that, an off the cuff remark. (although I've seen some comments which appeared to have taken more time and effort to compose that they article that it was responding to, but rarely)

A comment is original context too and it is rewarded......how?

I'm unclear on that part. If a comment is considered a post and is subject to the ' after four posts a day then what you say becomes worthless' rule then that would explain why there are so few commeents. (note: I'm not saying that the 4Posts rules is a bad idea,but let's a spade a shovel ok?)

So few? Well yeah. I was on FaceBook for about a decade where ANY post received multiple responses. Even something like "good morning". That's not happening here on Steem and I don't understand why.

Social media is my social life. In the RW I'm an introvert. "I don't play pretty with others". Consequently I'm going to be 'chatting online' no matter what. Getting paid for doing it is just a bonus.

Not so say I wouldn't like the money. I certainly would.

So how can we encourage "conversations" rather than silence or just 'drive bys"....

One More thang.

I have heard that edits such as this, count as a post, thereby decreasing the value. I've also heard that is not true.
Color me confused.

Sort:  

you get penalized after 4 original posts a day.

edits do not count as new posts. there was some confusion about this, but it was totally unfounded.

COmments do not count. You can comment as much as you like.

I had hoped for as much.
The rule of thumb would thus be.
Write no more than Four Posts a day. Spend some time on them. Format them well. Do some research. Make it as interesting as possible. It should be original work but links to either images, other sites, or video's are acceptable as long as they are attributed.

Vote no sooner than thirty minutes after a post, since the value of early voting is degraded in order to discourage bots, but after that half hour is passed vote as soon as possible BUT vote only FOUR times a day (at full power) OR vote more times per day(at degraded power) BUT...if you vote more than twenty times a day your vote power will be insignificant BUT if you don't use up all your vote power it will be wasted. (heh...in this case your vote can REALLY be wasted.

Be sure to comment. Comment often. Comments might pay in Curation Rewards. There IS no downside to commenting and there might be significant upside.

Do I have that right?

hmmmmm but what about upvoting your own comments?? upvoting your own posts is automagic.

Comments pay in author rewards, not curation rewards. Theyre voted on and paid just like OPs. To be honest, i have done much better in comments than I have in OPs. Of the 1200 i made in author rewards this week, like 100 has been from original posts.

To be perfectly honest with your level of SP, you don't have to worry about curation rewards. You're not going to get a signficant amount no matter when or how much you vote. What youre saying about voting is a little off, but tbh i wouldnt worry about it.

I usually do tend to upvote my own comments for increased visibility (and as protection against spam downvoters). But with your level of steem power, pretty much who cares. Really nothing you do with voting is even going to be moderately financially signficant until you have 10K SP or so.

By petitioning Dan and Ned. Really, they are the ones who got this off the ground.
I would simply ask them to change the algorithm, or something.
Interaction is important to me. I was told that I was not a social person. Social Media is supposed to stop that.
But it is almost discouraged here...

That's exactly my point. I would think that it would be ENcouraged.

Commentating is it's own reward. If done with authenticity. It is also strategic in the long game. And it makes Steemit a lot of fun.

Sometimes a post I make gets no comments, but if I respond to someone elses, I often get a good discussion, and not necessarily from the OP!

I got a pleasant surprise one day; noticed that I had made some steem and I hadn't posted anything...then I see it's from a comment I wrote. But the best part was that what I said had resonated with 13 other people and I did not expect it!

really nice article! love it

Agreed i feel as though there are very few who take the time to post comments. Its unfortunate because the comment section provides a great vehicle for follow up discussion.

interesting .. never noticed that! thank you for this article

I must protest! I have sent you a "Good morning" at least two or three times. Sniff. I demand a safe space...and an M4...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60140.74
ETH 2559.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54