Salvage Yard Finds of the Week!

in #posting7 years ago

As always, more crazy stuff was donated to us… These are the winners for the week!

This is an antique icebox! Look at that old hardware. What a cool thing to have one of these instead of a refrigerator! Maybe something like this is the solution to the highly efficient fridge I was going on about in an old post.


I scored this old brass cigarette box the other day! I’ve converted it into my new wallet. I love how scratched up it is. So much character. Don’t know the story behind it, and there’s no markings on it so I know literally nothing about it.

I just thought this leaf was gorgeous while I was chillin’ at work waiting for donations to come in.

I can’t even begin to imagine how much a door like this would cost new but someone didn’t want it and donated it to us. Can you believe that? It’s massive and I believe it’s solid cherry. Check it out towering over the little white normal size door to the right in the picture!

We don’t always take art but when we do it’s unique. This rooster is made completely out of beans! Pretty cool really.

Metal Ballisters. I’ve never seen metal ones. And they are made from some interesting material because they’re lite like aluminum but rusted… weird stuff. I wonder how they were made.

This beautiful inlay table came it too. It’s a bit messed up on the edges but someone hand did this work. And they chose beautiful wood. I think that’s walnut in the center. Look at that natural pattern.

Here’s a closer look at some of the workmanship.

Some people’s garbage is someone else’s treasure… that line rings true!

Sort:  

I'll have to see the new wallet.

cant believe someone donated that icebox. and the table! absolutely gorgeous!

I know I'm awed that people are willing to just give this stuff away. It's terrifying to see how much "trash" we produce and throw away!

Wow!!! That's a definite treasure you found!
Beautiful piece of furniture!

Thanks @goldendawne always happy to see your face on here ( :

Wow! Those are some awesome finds for sure!

Thanks! New cool stuff all the time! Nice to meet you by the way, following ( :

Some awesome pieces this week! That door is most impressive!

Isn't it just giant! Problem is no ones house can fit a custom door like that so it's sitting there lonely

That fridge is a cool find. Oops no pun intended. Lol🐓🐓

That ice box is stunning!

Everyone like that one... that kinda sad thing is that the guy who bought it is the type whose gonna throw it into his barn and we wont see it again for another 20+ years as it sits around unused.

Good thing you rescued it then!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56991.17
ETH 2341.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33