Should I be sharing other people's content?

in #posting7 years ago (edited)

I'm not downing anyone, but is it legal?

Is it ethical? Are we supposed to be all original here? What are the rules?

For Best Results: Resteem, Upvote, Follow and Comment! Let’s help each other out!!!

Much Love!
JamiSonic

http://www.davidjamison.net singer/songwriter
http://www.muse4change.org nonprofit 501ce

22283_415948121913121_5702969406140367502_n.jpg

Sort:  

In general if you share content and you add commentary or something of your own no one really complains. Though ideally if you can convince the artist to COME to steemit and share their own material that is even better. I keep trying to do that with some and so far I've had no luck. It's too bad they would often do quite well here.

So if they won't come here then as long as you add something to it and do not claim it is your own it seems that it would be good publicity here.

We do tend to down vote plagiarism where people present work and give no credit and thus kind of imply it is their work.

Plagiarism is addressed in the Quick Start Guide, but as @dwinblood states, a lot of Steemians don't seem to care about the submission of non-authentic work. It's too bad because some people are generating a lot of Steem using a simple copy-and-paste method while others put real time and effort into giving the community something original. Success through plagiarism encourages others to do the same.

I've only been on here a week, and I really like the concept of the site, but it sucks seeing people abuse the system and make money on other people's words/images.

If there is a way to downvote, I haven't seen it. You can remove a vote or you can flag a story because of plagiarism. You can also comment that the submission is an act of intellectual theft, but then you run the risk of being labeled the Plagiarism Police.

When I use images that are not my own, I either cite the source or reference the use of non-original material. If they are actual sentences or paragraphs that were written by another author, I use quotes. I guess you could call this the 8th Grade English Class Rule. I hope this helps.

Loading...

Damn, you keep putting @steamcleaners and I keep seeing an account with nothing on it. :D It took me a minute to realize the problem.

Anytime you see a name in a post like @steemcleaners you can just click on it in the comment or post to take you to their account.

Yeah I did misspell it. I usually don't but I wrote an article about Valve's Steam yesterday and sometimes that throws me out of step. :)

Nice. I found their post titled Plagiarism Guide and linked it in my story as a definitive source. Thank you again for your feedback.

Thank you Sir

Reference it and ad your own commentary/content.

Very much appreciated! following

Very much appreciated. Following

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63237.60
ETH 2647.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81