LIFE OF A FULL TIME TEACHER - POSTGRAD STUDENT

in #postgraduate6 years ago

So, when the semester started a month ago, my life was getting busier. I work on Monday-Friday noon, and then study my postgrad at Friday afternoon. I’m working in a hectic school since it has so many activities and then I have extra works to do; my college assignments.
I took English Applied Linguistics major. My lecturers said, here, in Indonesia, there are only 2 universities which postgraduate program has it as one of the majors.
I have 6 subjects in this semester. I learn them on Friday and Saturday. Yes, just 2 days. Each subject has 6 assignments. And we also have routine task every week. Every single for every single subject. Yeah, life is hard, buddy. Really.
The most difficult assignment we (my classmates and I) got for this week is Mini Research for Discourse Analysis. The lecturer divided us into 4 groups and gave each group 4 different topic to research and discuss. She gave my group Metaphors in Political Discourse. Such a deep topic.
The first thing my team could do was discussing. What did we discuss? Well, anything. Started from politic. What kind of sources could we find for political things? News. So, news record or newspaper and magazine. Since news record will make us to make the transcript of the record or video, so we decided to choose newspaper as our source. Since, it is English Applied Linguistics, we could use any source, any data as our research. After observing some national newspaper for 2 days, we decided to choose Kompas as our source. We tried to find any political news and noted any metaphor we could find. !

IMG-20180303-WA0030.jpg

IMG-20180303-WA0028.jpg

All we could do was underlining any sentence we thought had metaphor in it.

IMG-20180303-WA0029.jpg

IMG-20180303-WA0027.jpg

IMG-20180303-WA0026.jpg

Until I’m writing this post, my team still discuss about theory of metaphor we’re gonna use. We still can’t decide since we haven’t discussed anything yet with our lecturer. So, we’re just trying to understand any theory we found as well as we can, so we can be responsible to any result and explanation we’re gonna display and explain later.

IMG-20180305-WA0002.jpg

To be honest, I don’t really get the concept of discourse, and how to do a discourse analysis. Well, I’m expecting any comment about discourse, discourse analysis and metaphor. Let's write together. Let's write together. Let's earn together. Thank you! :)

Sort:  

Congratulations @aarifadhila! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @aarifadhila! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64155.87
ETH 3422.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59