You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Possum Friend

in #possum6 years ago

I was holding my cane out towards its nose and it moved towards it to sniff it. It had no fear of me whatsoever unless a made a very loud bang. I could have probably fed it food out of my hand. I know they are very laid back & sluggish creatures, but a lot of them have rabies. I don't want to take any chances. I had to continuously tap it on its back and push it forward to get it to move towards the exit.

Sort:  

I would have jumped out of my skin if I discovered it near my feet. We're told to be careful of wild animals that are friendly because they could have rabies but I didn't know it was common in possums.

I just Googled it and you are correct. It is very rare for possums to have rabies. It is because they have a slightly lower body temperature where the rabies virus can't thrive.

It was quite scary and it looked like a skunk too as I jumped back a bit and it waddled the other way.

LOL I'm definitely not correct because I had no idea one way or the other. It's fascinating what we learn.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59046.50
ETH 2654.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50