INTRODUCTION: Who Am I?

in #possibilities7 years ago

I don’t really know how to start my introduction.

But I will start by saying “ don’t let your background put your back on the ground.” Every situations and happenings in our life is for us to learn something that worked and the ones that didn’t work so we can make wise judgment for our next level.

I didn’t grow up with a silver spoon, can’t even remember may be with a plastic one. All I know was that I encountered poverty face to face when growing up and I give kudos to my parents who made all the efforts and sacrifices to give me the best gift “education”.

My turn around came as a result of self realization and determination to make my parents proud by paying them back for all the sacrifices. I grew up in different towns and villages across the South-Western part of Nigeria with my parents who are local parish priest.

My parents instilled in me and my siblings to be hard working, optimistic, respect others, help others, be honest and believe that you can make it. These are the values that shaped my life growing up.

I am a DIY person and believe I can learn anything on my own. For example, I learned driving on my own, I learned computer repair, software development etc and later after uni I got my first job as an IT instructor. I was taking several course on database, word, excel, ppt and some other software applications. The DIY in me led to another job offer as system engineer with installation of radios and servers across Nigeria. This opportunity gave me the chance to visit every state in Nigeria. I currently work with a private equity company.

I learned to be resilient and appreciative and see good in everyone I come across.

TURNING PAIN TO GAIN

So in 2014, I had a terrible encounter with a dealer who was supposed to buy a car for me. Unfortunately he ran away with over 2.5m Naira ($7000) and didn’t show up with money and the car. There is this saying that “every disappointment is a blessing.” I got the guy arrested and was able to get another car in lieu of what I lost. I sold it in 2016 and one day was praying and God told me in Jan 2017 to use the money to start a car business so I can help people not to fall prey to fraudsters.

I started the car business with 2.5m ($7,000) and some little loans and in 11 months we have done a turnover of 8 digit (in Naira).

My encouragement is LOOK at the problem, the pain, the disappointment, the loss, but SEE solution in it. Turn it around and see possibilities. The results of not quitting is amazing.

You are more than what you think you are.

Sort:  

Congratulations @segabod! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You can never solve a problem on the level on which it was created.

- Albert Einstein

The wise-old-man, its nice meeting you here. Just followed you, could you pls follow back? Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43