You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Being visually impaired: Follow-up 1: Answering your questions - What would you ask a visually impaired person?

Many years ago, I took a seat next to a blind man on the bus. We spoke briefly, very briefly. I was impressed at first that he could somehow sense I wanted the seat beside him because he moved his belongings to open up the seat. Coincidence? Maybe. Small talk led to me asking how a blind person dreams. He claimed he's been blind since early childhood. Yet nearly every night, when he'd fall asleep, he said he'd see things. He said he used to wake up screaming, describing what he saw to his siblings and they would just respond, "It was only a tree, go back to sleep." He said he knows what a tree feels like, but has only seen one in his sleep. He claimed he could describe the entire world to me the way he sees it... but it was my stop.

Sort:  

Wauw, that is amazing! I've never heard something like that, some people just have such interesting stories :D

I believed the man and regret not having more time to listen. I also believe the deep mind where senses are processed is accessible without the physical connection to our environment. Ever smell something that you remember from your childhood... but there's nothing around that should smell like that? Happens to me all the time...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67633.57
ETH 2605.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71