Positivity Breeds Positivity Challenge - Day 2- Seeds of Positivity

KIMG0548.JPG
The seeds of POSITIVITY will grow! Have you planted anything positive recently?
People often think that doing something positive requires a lot of work or effort. Some feel as if they have to deliberately go out of their way to do something for others.
Not true! Do something positive for yourself! Do something that will make you a better person! KIMG0547.JPG

Over the past few years, I've been planting seeds (literal seeds) of positivity in the yard by my house; and I am finally seeing the positive fruits (literally) of my labor. A while ago, one of my neighbors had a garden of sunflower growing in her yard. Being in the city, I hadn't seen real live sunflowers growing before. Seeing them growing on my way to and from work everyday was nice. When she moved away, the new tenants didn't keep up with the garden. I decided to plant some in my yard the following year.

The first year I had just a few 12" tall plants. The year after that, I planted a dozen more. I also decided to grow other types of food. I added a few heads of lettuce, grape vines, tomato plants, pepper plants, melons, and other things as the years passed, and my garden has come a long way(I'll find old pics later). Now, my garden is growing quite well!

How does me gardening help breed positivity?KIMG0542.JPG
I now have enough grapes to share with my family and friends. Sure, you may not think that's a lot, but 150 pounds of Concord Grapes goes a long way.
KIMG0539.JPG
KIMG0540.JPG
200 cherry tomatoes, and 75 pounds of Beefsteak and Heirloom tomatoes go a long way.
KIMG0544 (1).JPG
Bell peppers, jalapenos, watermelons, cucumbers, honeydew melons.... You get the idea.
Hopefully next year, 90% of my own fruit and vegetable needs will be taken care of by my garden. I am also planting smaller gardens in the yards of friends and family members.

A small idea of growing sunflowers because they looked nice, evolved into something more positive: we are now feeding people! Today, I'm working in the garden and donating food to those in need. What is your positivity for the day?

Sort:  

omg I am so jealous! I love the idea of growing my own food!

"The first year I had just a few 12" tall plants. The year after that, I planted a dozen more." -- how long does it take for the seeds to grow?

hmmmm. food for thought. Good Work.

Thank you! Did you do anything positive today?

Beautiful photos of your lovely garden!!

Thanks @melinda010100 how was your day?

It was quiet. I spent a few hours taking photos, and that always makes me happy!

That's awesome! Do you prefer color or black and white?

Up voted and resteemed

I take everything in color, but then edit it to b&w as I see the need. Has your garden had plenty of rain this year? We are soggy here in Wisconsin and I have had begonias rot off because they were too wet.

You're very inspirational. :)

Thank you! I hope that it will catch on. I am doing this project for all of August, I think we will rerun it in January or February. As the school year starts, I will try to introduce it to my students. I want to see if we can really make a difference in our school! Please, tag some of your friends so they can participate. Please, post your daily positivity and tag me so I can spread it around as well. I'm not a beggar for resteems, but if you feel so inclined to share it, thanks again.

That's great! Sounds like your a great influence for the kids! 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99