Goku Coin was a Bust for Me - Funds lost in updating Wallet - No Dev Help to recuperate losses. Virus Hack?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #pos7 years ago

goku pic.jpg

Goku coin was a tough loss for me. I bought the coin early and low in price. Started staking. Then I am informed that i need to update to new wallet. I follow instructions to save my wallet.dat file and integrate with the new wallet update. Guess what - it didn't work. Nothing worked out of the tips and tricks i received from people within the Goku community on discord. I was also told that a virus that was showing up on my community from goku early on was a 'false positive'.

I sucked up the early loss...and decided to re-buy some more goku as the set up for this POS coin seemed like upward price movement was in the works....and i was right it definitely moved in this direction. Guess what....time for another wallet update....No kidding my goku coin disappeared again. "Tough Luck" the general feedback within the community...and that i must not have saved my wallet.dat correctly. How else do i save it then clicking save and updating...even going as far to give the wallet a new name as like "most recent updated wallet. dat".

Anyways that was my experience with a small community coin "GOKU" that is in the works of re-branding the name out of concern for copy right infringement on the name "Goku"

Cryptocurrencies in a lot of ways are a series of social experiments running...it is best to always use discernment within one's participation and to avoid playing with more than one is willing to "lose".

It could all be gone tomorrow :)

Sort:  

Ouch Mike. That sucks. Hope you learned something from it. I would never buy a coin, which is not listed in the Top80 ranks of cryptos. And I don't buy coins which don't exist for at least a year.

Solid approach all round @ew-and-patterns

"slow down...patience...avoid unnecessary risk"

That really sucks. I usually avoid the tiny coins as despite their price movements I just see no utility for them, so believe they will die sooner or later. They are like buying magic beans. It mean I miss out on some profits but avoid these sort of scare stories.

solid approach @grizgal

Definitely was going after the "magic beans".

Well said and glad to hear your rational deduction :)

Wow! Thank you for sharing that. This has always been a worry to me. While I want to have cryptocurrency, I simply don't trust computers. There are too many people out there that hack and destroy. If there is a power outage and you need money, good luck! EMP? Oh well! That is why cash will always be king. It can't be hacked easily and you can still use it during blackouts. When cash fails, there are precious metals and jewels to fall back on. The tv series Max Headroom showed us early on that this was something "THEY" wanted, to take all our buying power and have the ability to lock it away against our wishes. While crypto is neat, I think in the long run it is impractical if we wish to keep our freedom from government and banking tyranny. Look at how other countries are now behaving towards it, China and Russia have passed legislation against cryptocurrency.

I think china and russia just slowed things down a bit...i think it's only a matter of time before national currencies become completely digitized.

Theft/hacking is for sure an issue. Part of a bigger issue really in "surviving in the current system and structure of things here"

money is a big topic of discussion and crypto is supporting more discussion into the creation and distribution of currency...which is a topic that needs more attention as....we still live in a world where our fellow humans live in poverty!

Yes, I'm one of them.

damm looks a huge loss

very sad news

()

DragonballZ on these people :D

That's too bad, but at least you were willing to take a chance. I love the name of the coin. Though humans can be rough sometimes. Reminds me of the last steemit crash where a fellow steemian lost 3,000 steem. Yet felt so loved by the community and was grateful that he only lost three thousand. It feels weird saying only lost 3000 because I would have been pretty sad if I lost even 100 lol. Glad to see you're still writing, just stopped to check in on you. Just wrote a new post, I think you might life it. Also I have a new contest running it's a great way to increase your exposure. It's getting a pretty sweet response. :)

This post has received a 0.20 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @dreamingirwin.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79