You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Islam and His Wife, in Their 1-Room Home … Gurugram, India – Portrait Photography

Those who have a home in Bengal normally save up and go home. But a lot of the domestic help in Gurgaon are from Bangladesh. As such they have no home to return to. These people stay on in Gurgaon working the worst jobs in the most terrible conditions.

I see you stayed in Regency Park! The two besides each other are the biggest injustice and a perfect example of the terrible wealth distribution in India.

The rich and the very poor. India has a long way to go before we can call ourselves developed.

Sort:  

Indeed, that's the one lasting image I have of India ... the wealth gap. Even though most of my white-collar colleagues saw it as simply a fact of life in India, I found it unconscionable.

Re your statement about "from Bangaldesh," several people told me the same thing. When I told them my domestic helper came from "West Bengal," various people told me that they most likely came from Bangladesh.

Apparently, there are many places where they can cross the border into India, and then make their way to Kolkata, Delhi, or beyond.

People have been going back and forth forever. Just because some humans draw a line on a map it won't stop people from meeting their relatives in the other side!

Right. Lines drawn on maps (drawn by fools, I might add) will not prevent people from moving and will not prevent people from wanting to be with their families or wanting to get ahead.

At the same time, similar lines drawn by fools can lead to horrible discord and carnage ... as India, Pakistan, and Bangladesh know so well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66543.69
ETH 3327.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71