I tear myself down because there is no one to build me up

in #portraitphotography7 years ago (edited)

exist 3.jpg

The world around me is filled with people. I see them, I watch them, I’m supposed to be one of them.

But, I’m not.

I tried.

I tried.

I asked for help. I cried for help. I begged. I screamed. Voice raw from trying.

Into the faces of the people around me.

Their faces stared back at me, blankly.

Words. They gave me words. Empty. Plain. Simple.

No one believed. They saw what they wanted to see. Felt what they wanted to feel.

About me.

More days. More nights. Countless.

The emptiness grew.

I fought. Steel against steel. Sparks. Bright in that darkness.

But there was no tinder.

What makes people. Was not there to light.

No one had left any in their passing.

Just words.

We are not complete. The puzzle is made of pieces.

Light does not shine because you say it will.

Life does not begin because you try.

I scream WE!

But they say ME!

It’s you! No! It’s us!

Armor, grown heavy in thought.

It keeps out.

It keeps in.

In perfect isolation I feel. I see.

People. Around me.

Words after words after words.

Dull they strike.

Where is Excalibur!?

The weight that even Atlas could not bear, cleaved in two.

The light. North star in the sky. Cold, far, dim.

Tonight it shines.

But, tomorrow?

When someone next to you asks for help. Please help. Our world will only become a better place when you begin to care. And when you begin to act. We want to change, but there's a point where even the strongest need a helping hand.

Sort:  

'We are not complete. The puzzle is made of pieces.'
Powerful piece Mike :)

Thank you :) I'm just so tired of people saying you can do it yourself. No. People cannot do it by themselves. They do not do it by themselves. As much as they say they did, if you trace the paths, there are always other people there. The path to redemption starts with me, but recover is done through we.

quite an interesting picture!

Thank you very much! Learning to do self portraits has been one of the hardest things I've eve done.

You yourself only lift up.🙆

There are times when people aren't strong enough to. I think it is a strength to ask for help when you're too weak to do something yourself. That's a problem with those around depressed people. They keep say 'do it yourself!' and a lot of the times the depressed person, just, can't. IF you haven't been that depressed, it's really hard to describe :\ Thanks for reading and commenting! :)

Gorgeous! Nice and dramatic the high contrast really brings value to this image.

Congrats!

Kindest regards,
Esa

Hehe, thanks @vimma for stopping by and enjoying my work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84