Not all those who wander are lost

in #portraitphotography6 years ago (edited)

It's been a while since I used the paper map when I found myself in a foreign place. Likewise, it's been a while since I saw anyone else use it.

DSCN8098.JPG

Everyone stares at their phones which do seem more convenient and advanced. We are so uncomfortable with letting the maps go and allow us to get a little lost and discover new places without any help. Are we being too predictable? Are we missing out on little adventures or are they just a waste of time?

I think we plan too much and explore too little. And it is hard to change that habit.

Maybe next time :)

“Not all those who wander are lost.”
~ J.R.R. Tolkien

Sort:  

Interesting photo... a paper map is like a rotary phone! Sometimes those who are lost just stand still.

It should help.

It's sometimes fun to do things the manual way
However, a piece of advice: always have an electronic backup
The world of today call maps, books, clocks and any material which has been digitised, An Antique

Indeed... Smartphones, the Internet and tech have changed the way we interact with our environment. Sometimes, just leave it all behind and have fun.

Get More Upvote - FREE

Steem(DOT)Link/Premium

Get 0.1 Steem free on signup !

Great Post Karen. I've been wandering seemingly my entire adult life, yet I never feel lost. I always like a good paper map and still use them often.

Just taking some time to stop by some of my favorite people's blogs here on Steemit. Been so busy traveling Europe!

From Kiev Ukrain! -Dan

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85