Nikkor 35mm F2 Lens 📷 Up Close And Personal

I've read so many times not to use wide angle lenses for portraiture but I love the intimacy and the sense of environment you can get with them.

I imagine some of the aforementioned advice comes from headshot shooters, and to be fair, longer lenses are advisable for accurate, flattering headshots. This was taken with an older prime lens on my D750. I picked up the Nikkor 35mm F2D for 200 euro, and the performance for that price has been outstanding, in terms of focus speed and sharpness. It's also very compact. Really enjoying using this lens.

22322222.JPG

Thanks for visiting. Tell me, what kinda kit do you use? Do you ever shoot portraits with a wide angle lens? Would love to hear from you in the comments below.


Nikon D750. Nikkor 35mm F2D
Model: @vajola

Sort:  

Nice work man!
About the 35mm on portraits, i use it all the time I own thw 35mm sigma art
and is on of my best lenses, on portraits along with the 85mm

i love the distortion that lens creates! if you get use to it, it will be your favourite!

Yes! I think this idea that we shouldn't use wide angle lenses for portraiture comes from headshot photography, where they need long lenses to avoid distortion on close-ups. But once things are a bit more "environmental", that rule goes out the door. I love Sigma lenses too!

Im owner of Canon5 mark III with wide angle lenses 1.8F and I love it. I usually use these lenses for anything’s my I need to take a photograph.
Nice picture!

Nice work!

beautiful

oh gosh, i just love your photos!

@condra, I want to buy a camera. What would you suggest for someone who wants to get a camera that is entry level, but can be upgraded in the future as the skill levels increase? I'd also like to shoot video, is it possible to have a camera that does both?

@princessmewmew I would recommend to try cheap and lightweight cameras. They have two benefits:

  1. if it's somewhat cheap you are not worried about damaging it in the rain or sand etc. which might result in more interesting photos
  2. light camera is more likely with you when you see something interesting.

I've seen many people getting too "good" cameras and ending up worrying about it instead of getting pictures. When you get experience with simpler camera you no longer need to ask for advice as you already know what upgrade would suit your personal need.

ah, thank you! some great advice there. Any specific model you would recommend?

  1. Small & light but somewhat expensive and not upgradeable = any version of Sony RX100

  2. Cheap & upgradeable but quite large & somewhat heavy = Canon EOS 1300d (18-55) KIT

  3. same as above = Nikon D3400 (18-55) KIT

  4. challenge to use mobile phone, maybe get a pocket sized stand for it to allow low light shooting with long shutter

for 2&3 the upgrade would be to get 35mm f1.8 lense maybe after a years use of kit lense

jobyJB01255XL-855x1024.jpg

great work with the lens and i think portrait is ood enough to suitable snap.

Nice. Have a go at 24mm too. It's addictive. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56182.86
ETH 2369.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30