Beautiful Nadia

in #portraitcontest6 years ago (edited)

studio(mod)-1.jpg



How Very Far I've Come...

Back in 2007 – when I was just beginning to build my photography business – I hadn't quite figured out that studio photography wasn't really the best fit for me.

I was just finishing up my photo program and still had access to the school's studios, so I used them often. Looking back, I recall how much I preferred the one studio with huge, North-facing windows – clearly already very much leaning towards working entirely with natural/ambient light.

I did a lot of mediocre work back then – was still resisting what came the most naturally to me (hangin' with kiddos n' bugs n' raindrops.) My primary critique teacher had convinced those were to be avoided. Instead, she strongly urged me to focus on 'Music' – creating imagery for album covers, etc. Of course – musicians are generally broke – so it wasn't a very lucrative choice!

Lots of people asked, and I was eager to get as many sessions under my belt as possible. Most of those sessions are embarrassing to look back on, but this was always one of my favorites. Nadia and I had a great rapport – I can see in these images that I was already becoming skillful at putting my subjects at ease and drawing out their personalities. I'm also pretty impressed with what I was able to do with such a crappy little 'kit' lens!

I was inspired to unearth these from my old hard-drives by a contest I happened upon that's sponsored by @kommienezuspadt & @crimsonclad (thanks so much for the nudge!) Now, after more than a decade, I'm feeling the spark of a daydream; how I'd love to find myself a beautiful studio space with generous windows.

Perhaps, someday.



nadia_222.jpg



Nerdy Details: Canon EOS 30D • EFS17-85mm f4.0-5.6 • various shutter speeds • Vancouver, BC • 14, March 2007


1111-flwrs(ext).png

Random sidenote/postscript – somehow I missed that moment when I crossed 1k followers, but I happened to catch it at a more magical number, anyway. If you're one of those 1,111 – thanks for bein' awesome!

copyright-dewdrops.jpg

DP-promo-stella.jpg

Sort:  

This is some really good work for just beginning!

Why, thank you, dearest Amber. <3 I happen to agree.

In my small world, I'd call all of these very fine. Particularly the first one. I love it. Ambient light does give a quality all it's own, that's for sure. And having the right 'glass', as you say, to record it, makes it even better. Very nice work (or play, disguised as work ) indeed. You definitely have this art form down well. I hope you get a large-windowed, sun-filled studio one day soon. Cheers

I appreciate that, @ddschteinn! It's interesting to look back at the very beginning.

I mean – I suppose it was really far past that at this point; I'd been in love with photography my whole life, and had taken B&W photo classes in my early 20's, but this was the beginning of me taking it seriously.

What I find so fascinating is that I was already getting pretty decent shots, with considerably shitty glass! Not long after this, I entered into mid-range lenses – a 50mm f1.4 and and an 85mm f1.8. Being able to open up that wide was mind-blowing! And then I finally bit the bullet and bought my first L-series prime in the spring of 2009 – a 35mm f1.4. Ohh...eeeeM...Geeee!

I still have that lens. It's traveled with me all over the globe and has yet to disappoint. But that was my gateway prime, for sure! Once I went L-series prime, I never went back.

Here's how lovely that 35 is – so deliciously intimate!

steemit-posts-25.jpg

I can relate to the photography bug from an early time in life. I think I got my first camera when I was 9. The photos were pretty shite, but I had a blast. All the way up to today, photographing the train while waiting at the station. Not only fun, but allows us to stay focused and creative while doing just about anything. There is SO much of interest all around us daily.

That is an amazing photo, and lens. Allows for, as you say, intimate close ups, a marvelously muted and soft view, or at least that' what I call it, without giving the subject a monstrous probosci either. Or bugged eyes. (So many euphemisms(?) from the bug world in photography. Must be a reason. Maybe because there are so MANY bugs, we have a lifetime's worth from which to choose ).

Though the artist and their craft is the ultimate driver of the view in this realm, the use of nice equipment definitely helps. I shot with a Nikon D200 in my first toe-dipping into digital, after film, and once I wore it out, now shoot with a small Lumix, until I can afford more and better. And there surely IS a large difference, that's for sure. Overall image quality, and particularly speed and light gathering dynamics, and just the simple speed of the whole camera process. At times maddening. I had a small hissy trying to use it for my fireworks photos this year. Yikes. But we do what we gotta do in order to do. Thanks for sharing the inside view of your photo world.

Yes – so much around us at all times, if we're willing to pause long enough to notice. :)

I'm grateful for the tools that allow me to show the world how I see it – from the expensive yet delicious pro gear I've accumulated to the iphone and olloclip macro lenses in my pocket – I'm always at the ready.

This is stunning... the photography and the model. If you ever want to do something similar, let me know... Maybe I can drive down for a few days. ;)

I'd love that, miss Katrina. <3 While I don't presently have a studio, I've never stopped doing portrait sessions – both for promotional/professional purposes and also families/kiddos. My tag line used to be 'playful portraits; priceless heirlooms...' Come visit!

You do some amazing portraits / headshot that is for sure 😄👍

Thank you! Portraits are definitely my strength. I happen to think people are truly beautiful – even...especially...when they don't believe it themselves. I love nothing more than showing people what I see.

These are pretty great for just starting out! I especially love the very first one; the last one is pretty sexy though :) I had to laugh at how you feel some of your old stuff if kind of embarrassing; I used to write a lot and look back and some and just cringe haha

Thanks, Lynn! It's just the way it goes, right? We always see our immaturity when we look back. Still, I do see where my strengths were already – now I understand much more than I did then – it's all about my connection with people. I sincerely love what I do. <3

You're welcome @zipporah! It warms my heart to find someone like you who truly loves what she does and it pretty great at it as well 😎❤️

I used to own a daylight studio back in the zeros, it provides an amazing light indeed but I was unhappy spending every working day confided in those walls. I'll wish for you to have access to a beautiful studio space with generous windows whenever you feel like it and then hit the road again :)

That'd be the dream – yep! I'll always prefer shooting on location, but would love the indoor option, especially as I live in Portland, OR and often have rain to contend with.

It was my pleasure meeting you and having you on the show last night. Amazing voice, and pix as well. Please come back anytime you like. #CHRONIKnCOFFEE on MSP WAVES RADIO. RESPECT

Thanks so much for having me! Good times. ;)

I will always be a fan of your work. You're a rare gem and I'm grateful to have found you and your photography. Simply amazing all the way around.

Thank you so much @bristowboy! I appreciate your kind words, so very much. :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-20T02:04:39
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1375.31/1600.00
Total Photos: 70
Total comments: 92
Total contest wins: 21
And have also received a 4.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Wow, amazing photos and she's pretty nice too. I love it! ;-)

Thanks @ylich! :) I agree – she is 'pretty nice!'

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62659.86
ETH 2534.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63