Portrait photography contest: Mardi Gras Indian (entry 2, week 5)

IMG_2216.JPG

For this entry in the #portraitcontest I want to share one of my favorite portraits I've taken.

Shot in New Orleans during the St. Josephs day parade, this is a shot of one of the Mardi Gras Indians marching in the parade. The Mardi Gras Indians are a cultural tradition dating back to at least the mid 19th century. Families spend an entire year working on each costume, and they are only traditionally worn in public twice. Once on Mardi Gras day (also known as Fat Tuesday) and St. Josephs Day (also referred to as "Super Sunday"). It’s truly a unique experience to see the Super Sunday parade, and I highly recommend it to anyone visiting New Orleans. But please do yourself a favor and read up a bit on the history and proper etiquette of the event before taking part, this is a part of New Orleans history and should be respected. Keep the rowdy misbehavior to Bourbon Street where it belongs.

I hope to do a larger piece on Mardi Gras and New Orleans in the future! Got a fun New Orleans or Mardi Gras story? Share it in the comments!

For more travel related content check out #bazilwanders
For more art and photography check out #bazilgetscreative

If you enjoyed this post please upvote, resteem, or follow me :)

Sort:  

Voted and followed 😎

Thanks so much! I appreciate it!

very nice and detailed. thumbs up for the Mardi Gras indians ;)

glad you like it! :)

hi beautiful girl nice photo i really like this follow and upvote me i also did for u thanks reply must thanks again

Come on sister, don't lose hope. Now is the best time to be working hard on this platform, as the results will be 10x in the next bit of time!

You are one of my followers, so I am here to support you back :) I want to see you posting again. Let's go :)

Talk soon.

not losing hope! spend a week working a cocktail convention and packing up my house and just havent had any time to post! things are winding down now though and i've got a few posts in the works! stay tuned:)

Great to hear :) Go for it!

Talk soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59351.18
ETH 2529.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42