Portrait Contest Week 28: Motion

As I've mentioned many times before, I don't compete in the #portraitcontest since my husband @jasonrusell hosts the contest. But I like to chime in once in a while when I have something to contribute :)

For this round, his guest judge @davekavanagh has chosen "motion" for the theme, and I thought that it was a fun twist on the traditional definition of "portraits" and that it pushes the boundaries a bit. @davekavanagh is a very talented photographer who delivers artistic, emotive, and thought-provoking portraits of all kinds. Go check him out and give him a follow if you haven't already!

IMG_8572.jpg
This was taken last summer just outside of our hometown at the Jack's Fork River. Our model, Kail, gave me permission to use this photo, although she didn't approve of her "fat roll". Haha, silly girl! She had just given birth to a baby girl just a few short months before this, and she looked fantastic! As you will probably notice, the focus is on the beads of water, but when I thought of a portrait in motion, this photo is immediately what came to mind.

As always, I look forward to seeing all of the entries for this round of the #portraitcontest!

follow melody.jpg

Sort:  

She flipped her hair out of the water. Taking a bird bath in the river was always her favorite part of going camping. She wrapped herself up in a towel, and made her way back to the campsite. Normally it would be full of the sounds of voices, but strangely she heard nothing.

Where was everyone?


Post Stories by @jfolkmann

WOW steemer,
Great post . I followed you :) Please follow me :)

Thank you :) I will check out your blog!

Wow this is beautiful
I love the way she fliped her hair

Thank you! This shot was unplanned. If I remember correctly, she was just trying to get her hair wet and she ended up flipping it up out of the water :)

👍🏼👍🏼

Glad you approve! Thanks! 😁

very nice photo Melody!

Thanks so much @claudiaz! I’m surprised I haven’t stumbled across your blog until now. Following!

Awesome motion shot! It's really hard to focus on movement. I think it came out pretty good. I love the contrast the greens make with her jeans. And tell your friend she looks fantastic for just a few months away from giving birth.

Thanks so much! I thought it turned out decently for a spontaneous shot :) And I will tell her for you. I’m sure it will make her feel much more confident! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64742.19
ETH 3169.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55