Steemit Portrait Photography contest Week 1 (35 steem prize!!! +5 SBD )

in #portraitcontest7 years ago (edited)

I'm starting my own photo contest this week!!

Show me your best portraits of people you have to offer!!

Definition: Wikipedia(https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Portrait)
---A portrait is a painting, photograph, sculpture, or other artistic representation of a person, in which the face and its expression is predominant. The intent is to display the likeness, personality, and even the mood of the person. For this reason, in photography a portrait is generally not a snapshot, but a composed image of a person in a still position. A portrait often shows a person looking directly at the painter or photographer, in order to most successfully engage the subject with the viewer.---

I will offer 10 steem as a prize to the winner!

UPDATE: @sykochica has graciously donated 25 steem to the winner!!
35 STEEM PRIZE!!!!!!!

ANOTHER UPDATE: @jessamynorchard has donated $5 SBD TO THE WINNER!!!!

You may enter as many times as you would like but only the best will be considered!!! Also please only enter your original work as a photographer or model in the photo!! I will be checking for original work!

If you would like to enter please use portraitcontest as your first tag!!

I'm starting this on Saturday morning so please have your entries in by next Friday night and i will post the winner and send the prize steem on Sunday!!

Show me what you've got steemit!!

IMG_9419.jpg

Canon 5Dii and Sigma Art 50mm 1.4 @ iso 100 f/1.6 1/125th

Sort:  

Great project @jasonrussell! I love the photography community here on Steemit. @jeffhiedeman, make sure you enter this!

Thank you so much @kommienezuspadt!! I was hoping to see an entry from you and @jeffhiedeman and possibly @condra!!

I'm also wondering if @jamtaylor takes portraits?

Your initiative is beautiful, it's good that there are many new contests :)

I know! It's Awesome!

Love to see ideas that niche our communities into even closer-knit groups based on stylistic choices, preferences, and skill areas. This is awesome, Jason. Well done.

Also, that's awesome generosity to give back to those contributing to the platform.

Upvoted and resteemed.

Thanks @jessamynorchard!!! I freekin love steemit and love everyone here!! I hope this does well and next weeks can be bigger! !

My entry: https://steemit.com/photography/@melkay/portrait-of-merl-from-the-dagga-couple-portraitcontest-by-jasonrussell

I know I probably won't win but wanted some extra people to see this comp and thought better an entry and explainer than a resteem.

Thanks. :D

Thanks!!!!!!!!

Great idea. Portrait photography is an art most difficult to master. I am nowhere close to the required skill level but will try to participate.

Am more into wildlife and nature photography as well as travel. If you want to see some of my work, you are welcome to visit my blogs.
Upvoted and followed you.

Great!! Looking forward to see what you bring to the contest!

My entry - https://steemit.com/portraitcontest/@vm2904/portraitcontest-baboon-reflecting-on-life-entry-1
Dont know if it is any good but wanted to participate and support this wonderful competition

Upvoted, resteemed and following you. I have to run out and do some errands now, but when I return I will enter the contest. I love steemit contests and promote them whenever I see ones that look like my followers will enjoy them too. I wanted to get it resteemed before I go out, but I'll be back and entering soon! Thanks!

following

Great initiative @jasonrussel ...I think (certainly for me) potrait photography is the most difficult, so I doubt I will have a go at it . I do however look forward to see the various entries.

You should totally give it a shot!!

you are a god of photography i must say.... lovely project

Thank you @gbenga!! You're too kind!

hehehe love this .. here is my submission 📸
https://steemit.com/portraitcontest/@tastetwist/my-baby-nephew-dt

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54