My entry for the Steemit Portrait Photography Contest, Week 54 : "MUSIC"

in #portraitcontest6 years ago (edited)

Those of you that follow my blog from the beginning of my steemit adventure, have probably seen this picture before, but when I saw that the theme for week 54 of the "Steemit Portrait Photography Contest" is "MUSIC", I couldn't think of a more appropriate entry!

You know, I am really fond of this shot. Maybe it is because I haven’t done a lot of portraits or because it was a very stressful shooting itself but I will never forget that day.

_MG_2053.jpg

At the time I had a studio, doing mainly advertising photography but in a small market like the Greek, specialization was a luxury I didn’t had, so I was practicing almost every kind of photography. Actually I liked it, since I had some interesting variety in my job. Nikos is a well-known Greek violinist working on traditional music. The day he come in, for his portrait, I was assigned by a magazine to illustrate the interview that he gave to them. The magazine was a new customer so I wanted to give the best possible result.

I had my lights all set up so after the introductions Nikos stepped in front of the background and looked at me. I cannot describe how awkward the following minutes were. He couldn’t pose not even remotely natural and I was feeling so bad for not been able to guide him properly. The shooting was evolving into a disaster.
After dozens of useless shots I asked him to play something with his violin. I attached a telephoto lens to my camera and I stepped away, into the shadow. And boom! All the tension and the awkwardness burst out leading to this picture!
I don’t know what you think of it but for me it was a great success. It turned out to be the magazine's cover and Nikos come back for more shootings :)

_MG_2053-2.jpg

Camera: Canon EOS 5D
Lens: Canon 80-200mm f/2.8 L
Focal Length: 85 mm
Aperture: ƒ8
ISO: 200
Shutter: 1/180 s

I cannot decide which version I like more so I am submitting both :)
What do you say color or b&w?

Sort:  

There is so much life in this photo! Great job!

Thank you @danielapetk, I am really glad that you liked it :)

I would vote for the color photo. Looks great in B&W but to me (as a guy that has no idea who he is) the colored shot expresses more. The magazine went with the colored one as well? :)

_ZS_014.jpg

Found it :)

Yes it was the colored one at the magazine. Actually the b&w is a very recent edit, the magazine's people never saw it :)
Thank you for stopping by!

Great shot, there’s so much movement captured, but it’s also so sharp. Love it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01