Portrait Competition: Cinematic Dad

in #portraitcontest7 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemians!

I was kindly encouraged to join the Portrait Competition run by @MelodyRussell and @jasonrussell!

For my first entry I've chosen my favourite photo of my father. It was taken while we were all in Perth, Australia attending my undergraduate graduation ceremony. We took the day off to visit Rottnest Island (Rat's Nest in Dutch) home of the adorable Quokka. Here's dad scanning the coast with a very serious face after I was trying to compose him with my manual lens and took too long. I think his impatience and my lack of speed contributed immensely to this moment. I've prepared the original colour and the B&W conversion.

CinematicDadColour.jpg

DadBWPerth.jpg

Equipment: Nikon D3300 + Nikkor H 50mm (circa 1960s)
Post Processing with Adobe Photoshop CC2015

Thanks for reading :) Wish me luck :)

Sort:  

awesome work, follow and resteem for sure @deterrencepolicy

Thank you so much @hokieu :) Followed back :)

Stronger contrast in monochrome gives a bit better result @deterrencepolicy. Upvoted, resteemed & DPS… and good luck!

I have to agree; I should've pushed the colour one a bit harder with the contrast :) Thanks @photo-trail

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61265.20
ETH 3320.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48