📷PortraitContest - Week #10 - My Entry (with Photoshop colour correction tutorial)

in #portraitcontest7 years ago

Would you like to know how I did the colour correction for my entry into the Water Portrait contest by @jasonrussell? I've included a basic overview of my process for improving the colour of your photos in Photoshop. I wanted to keep the photograph authentic so I haven't done any touch-ups, only colour correction and I've explained my process in detail below.


This is my entry into the contest

A good friend of mine, Heba, who recently got married came with her husband to visit us in Cyprus. We went on a boat trip from Latchi to Blue Lagoon. The boat anchored for an hour and everyone dived into the crystal clear water of the Mediterranean and we were able to take some awesome photos with my GoPro.


This is me with Heba


The original photo was a little washed out, so I began by adjusting the levels. It's best to do them individually especially for underwater photography where the red colour is often lost


To bring our some of the detail in the water in the background, I added a mask and used a curve adjustment layer.


Red colour disappears as you go deeper underwater. This was very shallow, but a minor adjustment to the colour levels helped to improve the skin tones.


I wanted the colour to reflect the playful mood of the photograph so I increased the saturation.


Finally, I wanted to highlight her face, so I added a mask and used a camera exposure layer to make her face more dynamic

Thanks for reading
@deimus

Sort:  

Great photograph - I can't believe how clear her eyes are under water - haha - and sticking her tongue out. She will be so impressed with this photograph - what a lovely memory of her trip to Cyprus - well done @deimus - and thanks for showing us the stages of turning it into this masterpiece.

Yeah, she's such a beautiful person and the photo really captures her personality.

WOW - this is really an incredible underwater photograph- and yes, a very special model. The colours are superb .
Absolutely love it

Heebaaaaaaaa!

Nice finishing touch @deimus slight adjustments brought the picture more to life.

Thanks for your support, @joanstewart!

Holy crap! Ha ha. @deimus , you've literally just brought that picture back to life! Not that it was dead before. Great work, Jack. To me, that is magic. Mad skills, dude!

Nice post.

https://steemit.com/nigeria/@tfame3865/tips-to-financial-success

You can check on this link, it talks pretty much of financial freedom.

This post has received a Bellyrub and 5.17 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @pandamama. Send SBD to @bellyrub with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote, every 2.4 hours. Be sure to vote for my Pops, @zeartul, as Steem Witness Hope you enjoyed your bellyrub!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59056.49
ETH 2597.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44