📷 'Portrait Photography Contest' Week 25: Black and White PortraitssteemCreated with Sketch.

By now, I know I'm an easily excitable person. But I sure was stoked to see black and white portraits as this week's Portrait Contest theme. I've always admired the way a well-composed and nicely contrast-y black and white photo removes the distractions and brings all of the focus on the subject. I hope you enjoy a few of my favorites from over the years!

First, I'd like to share some images created in collaboration with models.

Nathan, aspiring model in New Orleans, Louisiana. Natural light in open shade.

Nathan-034-2.jpg

Nathan-035-4.jpg.

Amanda, created for my client, the Star Theater in Stayton, Oregon. Lit with off-camera flash.

Stayton-Star-10-3.jpg

Stayton-Star-1-3.jpg

Miss Mandible, created for my client, the Fox Theater in Dallas, Oregon. Lit with studio strobes.

Fox-Theater-8-2.jpg

Fox-Theater-2-2.jpg

Elizabeth, created for my client, the Pix Theater in Albany, Oregon. The first one is natural light. The second one was lit with off-camera flash, both to light the subject and to create the starburst effect to emulate a projector.

Albany-Pix-3-2.jpg

Albany-Pix-20-2.jpg

Next, I'd like to share some images from real wedding and engagement clients. All of these are natural light.

Jenn-George-109-2.jpg

Wedding-096-2.jpg

Hogg-64-2.jpg

Wedding-144-3.jpg

Benton-Wedding-278.jpg

Krehbiel-366-2.jpg

Wedding-271-2.jpg

Engagement-029-2.jpg

Engagement-23-2.jpg

Next, I'd like to share two images from a personal project. Lit with studio strobes.

04.jpg

01.jpg

And lastly, I'd like to share a few images from real client senior portrait and family sessions. These are all natural light, except the last two, which were lit with off-camera studio strobes.

Senior-016-2.jpg

Senior-014-2.jpg

Lydia-16-2.jpg

Taylor-18-2.jpg

Mini-005-2.jpg

Hogg-004-2.jpg

Liam-011-2.jpg

Logan-31-2.jpg

As always, a big thank you to @jasonrussell for hosting this super fun contest! Thank you to @bescouted for being the guest judge! I've recently discovered the @bescouted community and think it's fantastic! Maybe I'll write a blog post about it soon. Thank you to @crimsonclad & @melodyrussell for being the sponsors! Also, of course, thank you to @akrid, @crimsonclad, @minnowsupport, and the whaleshares community!

Thanks for reading,

Dani Mouser | Dani Photography | www.danimouser.com | New Orleans, Louisiana

The Knot | Wedding Wire | Yelp | Facebook | Instagram | Steemit | Patreon

Soon-to-be: Dani Benton | Dani Benton Photography
Coming Soon: www.danibentonphotography.com

Sort:  

Gahhh the girl with the big jewelry is gorgeous !

Yes, she is! I had the pleasure of working with her on a number of shoots, and she was always a natural in front of the camera. She's the model in my snow bride shoot, that I've posted a few images from :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60345.08
ETH 2986.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81