Guest Judge for Week 26 of #PortraitContest! Theme: Portraits of Men.

in #portraitcontest7 years ago (edited)

Guess who gets to be the guest judge for @jasonrussell's Steemit photography competition?

You know, the super awesome #PortraitContest?

Spoiler alert: it's me! And it's an honor :)

I've only been a member of the Steemit community for a short time now (about four months) so I'm a relative noob. But I found #PortraitContest right off the bat, and have been joining in the fun with each different theme of the contest. I'm happy to say, in that short time, I've received a handful of Honorable Mentions, two Third Places, and a First Place recognition.

As the guest judge, I was given the opportunity to select the theme.

How exciting!

I chose to ask the community to share with us their best and greatest portraits of men. That's right, guys. Dudes. As a professional photographer for over ten years now, I know the lovely ladies so often get to steal the show. Here's my chance to turn up the testosterone around here, if only for one week ;)

Interpret the theme however you like: natural light or carefully crafted studio lighting; posed or candid; color or black-and-white; telephoto or wide-angle. Share your best beautifully detailed headshot, or share your favorite image capturing your subject small in the frame. Let's take a look at the masculine side of things :)

Here's one of my favorite portraits of a man: my sweet fiancé @evdoggformayor.

I'll share MANY more over the course of the contest, so be sure to check back!

Also, anybody want to reverse engineer the lighting? Anybody curious or nah? I love to geek out about lighting, so let me know if you'd like me to shed some light on it :P

_DNI6591.jpg

Thanks for reading,

Dani Mouser | Dani Photography
www.danimouser.com | New Orleans, Louisiana

The Knot | Wedding Wire | Yelp | Facebook | Instagram | Steemit | Patreon

Soon-to-be: Dani Benton | Dani Benton Photography
Coming Soon: www.danibentonphotography.com

Sort:  

Reverse engineer the lighting as in change up the tones and hues and try different editing on it? Cause I do a lot of that if you’re interested in seeing it edited in a new style :) Let me know!

You're welcome to play however you like, dude! I meant 'reverse engineer the lighting' as in figuring out how the image was lit (how the lights were set up / modifiers used) by looking at the image. I'm really nerdy about getting the shot as close to complete in-camera as possible. But I would never dream of stifling your creativity, so if editing in post is what you're in to, feel free :)

for me the light scheme its easy here should i spoil it for others or keep it to myself?
btw i wanted to tell you that the your theme is giving me problems..i have too many portraits of men:))

Feel free to spoil it or leave it for others, whichever is more fun for you! My setups are often so simple, it's fun to see what people come up with sometimes. I'm happy to hear you have a lot of portraits for the theme! Share all of your best :) :)

my guess it's something like this.
or maybe the orange one is just snooted/zoomed in
lighting-diagram-1517274159.jpg

That's almost exact. The blue light in the back was just a touch more straight-on to the camera. The orange light was, just as pictured, in an open doorway. I used a tight grid to keep the edge of the light (the orange halo around his head) super hard. Simple and fun. Warm and cold is one of my favorite color combinations :)

Here's what the shot looked like without the key light: https://steemit.com/bescouted/@daniphotography/evan-with-his-trumpet-2

I was 90% sure there must be a door on the left. Mostly because of the small light fall off. Considering the invers square law if you had your flash in a tight hallway it should be a lot more whites on the nose

Great to have you on board!!! There are already lots of great entries!!!

Yeah there are some great ones! I've been saving screenshots of my favorites :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85