Strobist Promo Shoot - CK Swavie Afrobeat Artist

in #portraitcontest7 years ago

CK Swavie is an afrobeat artist based here in Dublin. Apart from being very talented, he's a really nice dude.


We went to a rooftop carpark in the city for this shoot. For the first two shots here, I used a flash in a 24" softbox for the key light, and a bare flash to the rear for that hard rim light. Actually, his pregnant girlfriend helped out on the shoot and held the rim light above her head, pointed at CK's shoulder. Very sweet couple! The third shot has only a keylight, and we let the ambient light in the carpark act as a rim light. Then we got kicked out!

ck876.JPG

This second shot is my entry for @jasonrussell's portrait contest by the way. The theme this week is male portraits! Check out his page for more info.

ck767.JPG

33333.JPG

If you like Afrobeat music, check out CK on YouTube

Sort:  

These are some great shots, I'll have to check out his music! Quick question, do you ever have trouble with security when shooting on rooftops?

Hey. Thanks for the comment. I've only shot in these types of locations a few times, and I've been kicked out about half of the times, no big deal though.

Very cool. I'm glad it's not a big deal when you get kicked out, haha. On to the next carpark, I guess!

Great shots man!

I know this guy!

Awesome.Keep it up.

All great portraits. I like the first though!

those are some awesome shots in the low light wonderful !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58470.94
ETH 2653.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43