Steemit Portrait Photography Contest Week 54 - MUSIC

in #portraitcontest6 years ago

This week theme @portraitcontest is music, and @axeman is the judge.

I have a lot of music shots so it will probably be a couple of this posts this week, and i will try to group them in events.

First group of photos is from (i think it was friday) a nice, we should get together and play, night at Underground Rock Music Cafe.

IMG_8754a.jpg

IMG_8689a.jpg

IMG_8820a.jpg

IMG_8853a.jpg

IMG_8784a.jpg

Only light source is a small reflector in the back of the stage, and the ISO is at 5000, so there is some grain in the photos, but overall i am pleased with them.

How much do you tolerate grain and noise in your photos? Will you use high ISO often?

Sort:  

Well I like the grain in these, probably cause of the vintage feel you gave it with the post processing. I can't work with ISO over 800, I have used it at 1600 but it only works in black and white where the grain doesn't bother as much. It's a pain in the ass haha.

post processing is exactly because of lack of light, in color it just does not work.
I had canon 600d and the limit was 1600, and if the light was bad it did not look so good. but in this kind of shoots i don't mind the grainy look, it is more about documenting it, and having fun. So 700d is not that better in the ISO department?

I generally try to set my ISO as low as possible. I didn't really notice any grain in these but maybe it's because I'm seeing them at a lower resolution. Either way I think they're fantastic shots and great color. I do a lot of video and unfortunately that's when I find myself needing to use higher ISO, especially when in doors.

if you go full screen there is a lot :)
don't know why but i am not comfortable going high ISO on video, maybe because i am not sure how would i make it better in post.

I use this Adobe plugin called Neat Video. It actually works wonders on video. Takes forever to process the footage though. I use it a lot on drone stuff. But I'm with you, I stay as low on the ISO as possible when doing video.

i dunno anything about photography but.. grain looks very nice here :)
is this place actually under the ground?

no it is not :) in the late 90s and beginning of 2000 in this place (it was a house once) was a club (cafe bar) called Underground. I think the story behind the name is it played and hosted bends that was not mainstream here in Padina so it was an "underground culture". then for 15 years there was nothing there, kinda abandoned place, so when the club started to work the name was kinda an homage to the old cafe.

I see, thats quite nice 😃
I was wondering because the grain sort of made me feel like its in a darker underground place haha

Hi @bil.prag!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.092 which ranks you at #9284 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 271 places in the last three days (old rank 9555).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 239 contributions, your post is ranked at #122.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63050.55
ETH 2622.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71