Just go for it!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #portrait7 years ago

Hey guys, I just wanted to take a moment and tell you all to just go for it. Whether that be quitting your job and chasing a dream, or something like asking the girl/guy of your dreams out, just go for it!

I know it's been a while since my last post, but I've been pretty busy with a lot of photo and video projects for clients I never thought I'd get the chance to work with. These past few months I've forced myself out of my comfort zone and challenged myself to get out there and meet new people while taking jobs I would have said no to at this time last year.

I've been shooting photos for almost 5 years now with a focus on the ocean and other landscapes. I mainly focused on that because I consider myself to be socially awkward and you don't have to talk to the ocean or the mountains to get a good photo of them.

OC1A3135.jpg

OC1A5262.jpg

Something I've told myself since I began shooting was that I was never going to shoot portraits or work with other people. Not because I was selfish, but like I said earlier, I consider myself to be pretty awkward around other people. That all changed though a few months ago when I took a job shooting a behind the scenes video of a photo shoot for a boutique in my home town. I knew I was going to be put way out of my element and was extremely nervous when I showed up, but after meeting everyone and realizing that they were also there to work, I was able to calm myself down and get into the zone.

After sharing the above video on my social networks and getting great feedback, I contacted one of the models from the shoot and we decided to meet up a few weeks later and shoot together just for fun. We took out a canoe and she paddled around as I shot photos. It was a little bit of a disaster since neither of us really knew what we were doing, but somehow we managed to get a few really good ones and a clothing company actually reposted one of our shots we got on their Instagram page.

OC1A4040.jpg

OC1A4028.jpg

After seeing how much love I got from people who followed me on Instagram, I began contemplating more and more if portrait photography was a road I wanted to go down. Over the next few weeks her and I met up a few more times, but this time shooting for a few local companies.

OC1A5637.jpg

OC1A4729.jpg

After sharing everything and posting photo blogs with my favorite shots from the shoots, my DM's started to blow up and before I knew it I found myself mainly shooting portraits. Over the past couple months I've worked with everyone from local musicians to national brands such as Obey and Dark Seas and have found that people aren't as scary as I used to think they were. Exploring this new field has also given me the opportunity to quit my job and chase a dream. Of course it was scary to quit my day job, but just going for it has given me more time to focus on my passion and meet new people who share similar visions. Here are some of my favorite photos from the past few months taken in Texas, Maryland, Delaware and Maine.

OC1A9615.jpg

OC1A5812.jpg

OC1A5603.jpg

OC1A8512.jpg

OC1A2620.jpg

To wrap things up, I just want to say I know I'm not that great of a writer, so if you made it this far, then thank you! I guess what I was trying to say with all of that was that I know putting yourself out of your comfort zone is scary, but the rewards of doing it can be amazing.

With that said, Just go for it!

If you'd like to follow along and see where, "Just going for it" takes me in life, feel free to click the link below!

Instagram.com/tribunonick

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48