A Portrait of A Girl Torn

in #portrait5 years ago

a portrait of a girl torn.png

I thought it'd be fitting for my first post to be a portrait. I drew this about three years ago, during a time of great turmoil and isolation. I remember being a girl who felt like everything and everyone she loved had be torn away from her. I remember not knowing why I felt so removed from myself. When people see this drawing, they often think the portrait is of them. Maybe it's the androgynous features of the portrait or the universality of feeling town away from those you love. I should note that I no longer feel like this girl. And I hope I will open up in this blog about my journey, as it relates greatly to mental illness.

As for now, I will leave you with this image.

Xx,
Mizzen

Sort:  

Congratulations @mizzenandapen! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I guess you really don’t know how I feel unless I comment, so here goes nothing. I have shown many people this website and many people have signed up. With some success, a few have shared first posts. With this, you are now a part of the club. But I can’t help but wonder, what will you do now with your membership? I can’t help but feel there was so much more we could’ve learned about you from your introduction, but then again, my time here has made me accustomed to spilling my heart out. A professor who’s opinion I still wrestle with today once counseled, writing is for honesty. We appreciate a nice thought, but those we can relate to are often honest with themselves. I’m sure you’ll find your voice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.07
ETH 2408.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43