Some Art - Self Portrait

in #portrait7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians! My time so far on Steemit has been absolutely amazing, the community is such a wonderful one filled with beautiful people who all wish to help each other which is honestly amazing. From my first post I've had nothing but warm welcomes, lovely comments and helpful feedback, it's a shame I didn't know about this sooner but I'm happy I'm here now.

Considering I've done a few posts I thought it'd only be right that you guys are able to put a face to the username Dangerouslyhigh, and rather than just a picture of myself I thought I'd also add a self portrait. Now I haven't done a portrait in a year or so, so this was fairly new ground for me but I hope you like it.

So I started off by roughly drawing the overall shape of the head and then mapping out where I felt things should go, trying to get the proportions as spot on as I could.

Next I started adding some detail, now I've always found eyes the easiest part to start adding detail to plus they're one of the most important parts to get right as they really play a part on how the final bit will look, so that's where I decided to begin.

After that I started ever so lightly shading the area's that were gonna be darkest, mapping out the most bold parts where the majority of shading will take place. The left part of the face, the bridge of the nose where the light doesn't hit and around the eyes.

Once I had that done, it was all about building up the shading. If you don't have the shadowed area's as dark as they need to be you're not gonna be able to see the contrast between the light and dark shading, so I repeatedly shaded over the same areas again and again using different pencils for each layer, slowly building it up.

From then on it was just about adding detail, shading a bit more in depth, drawing hair and touching up small details.

And that's the final piece! I've still got a lot of practice to come and a lot more to learn but for my first attempt in a long while at a portrait, I'm proud! I hope you guys like it and any comments or feedback is more than welcomed!!!

Sort:  

This is unfair, you are 12 , high and draw like a pro. Ok no not unfair but I just wanted to mention the fact that you are 12, get to be dangerously high and you drawings are amazing.

Can't wait for the steam train graffiti.
Glad I found your account, keep up doing what you do.

I may look 12 but I'm actually in my 20's haha, and I'll be working on that soon!! Glad you enjoy my work dude!

Its pretty nice 😚. Hope you like my art.. Nice to meet you

I'm glad you think so! Hopefully you enjoy the art yet to come!!

Wow just amazing....
Your portrait is too much beautiful from the real one . Your art is gift of God. Hopefully any time don't left this beautiful art work .
Can you tell me how many days you need to make this type of portrait?Any difficulty in this work?
I really like your art .superb .
Thank you so much for sharing such a beautiful art.

Thanks for the compliments! I'm glad you like my work, for my self portrait it took about 9-10 hours which i spaced out over a couple of days

Ohh wow its not too much time .Thanks for telling me.

Drawing is good and I think that in the future you will be an excellent artist. Everything is in your hands. In the meantime, in your drawing, your eyes and lips are not yours (you are thinner).
Good luck to you.
@lena1

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42